University Executive

The University Executive (UE) makes recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor in the exercise of his delegated authority for University-wide planning, decision-making and oversight. It reports to Senate on the prosecution and management of initiatives under the University’s strategic plan, and on the academic and financial health of the University.


Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The University Executive will:

  1. Make recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor in the exercise of his delegated authority for University-wide decision making and management oversight for the institution
  2. Identify emerging opportunities and assess fit with University strategy
  3. Protect and enhance the position and reputation of the University
  4. Oversee the initiatives of the University’s strategic plan
  5. Report to Senate on the financial and academic viability and sustainability of the University, including review the University’s budget prior to its presentation for Senate approval
  6. Oversee performance monitoring and improvement, regulatory compliance and quality assurance processes
  7. Oversee the University’s curriculum, teaching, research and research training, in conjunction with the Academic Board
  8. Maintain oversight of the University’s compliance with WH&S legislation, policies and procedures
  9. Oversee the University’s risk management framework including:
    a. Agreement and ongoing review of the University’s Risk Appetite and Tolerance statement
    b. Ongoing review of the institutional risk register to ensure appropriate management of risk, and
    c. Reviewing and determining appropriate mitigation strategies for escalated risks from other portfolios
  10. Oversee the University’s human resources management and capability planning across human resources, digital and physical portfolios
  11. Oversee the University infrastructure investment:
    a. endorse the business cases for investment, and
    b. endorse annual capital prioritisation for infrastructure and technology
  12. Oversee, in conjunction with the Academic Board, the programs of faculty reviews conducted jointly by the University Executive and the Academic Board
  13. Note the decisions made by University Executive Committees and review and approve any matters referred by University Executive committees regarding policies, procedures, programs and initiatives
  14. Ensure the effective communication of University Executive decisions to university leaders and the broader university community.


The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.


Composition and membership

Composition

 Member

Vice-Chancellor and Principal (Chair)

Dr Michael Spence AC

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Stephen Garton

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Philippa Pattison

Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services)

Professor Juanita Sherwood

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Registrar)

Professor Tyrone Carlin

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Duncan Ivison

Chair, Academic Board

Associate Professor Anthony Masters

Vice-Principal (Advancement)

Tim Dolan

Vice-Principal (External Relations)

Tania Rhodes-Taylor

Vice-Principal (Operations)

Stephen Phillips

Vice-Principal (Strategy)

Rebecca Murray

Dean, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

Professor Annamarie Jagose

Dean, University of Sydney Business School

Professor Greg Whitwell

Dean, Faculty of Engineering & IT

Professor Archie Johnston

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Kathy Refshauge

Dean, Faculty of Science

Professor Trevor Hambley

Transition Manager, Medicine and Health

Professor Alan Pettigrew

 

 

In attendance

 

Chief Financial Officer

Wayne Andrews

General Counsel

Richard Fisher

Chief of Staff

Rosalind Ogilvie

Chief Risk Officer

Nisha Graham

Manager, Staff Communications

Ben Wilson

Executive Officer, University Executive

Linda Goodman

Other attendees to be determined by the Chair as required.

 


Meeting dates and submission timelines

2017 meetings

Papers due cob:

Papers distributed:

Meeting Date :

Wednesday 25 January

Friday 27 January

#1 Thursday 2 February

Tuesday 14 February

Friday 17 February

#2 Thursday 23 February

Tuesday 7 March

Friday 10 March

#3 Thursday 16 March

Tuesday 28 March

Friday 31 March

#4 Thursday 6 April

Tuesday 18 April

Friday 21 April

#5 Thursday 27 April

Tuesday 9 May

Friday 12 May

#6 Thursday 18 May

Tuesday 30 May

Friday 2 June

#7 Thursday 8 June

Tuesday 20 June

Friday 23 June

#8 Thursday 29 June

Tuesday 11 July

Friday 14 July

#9 Thursday 20 July

Tuesday 1 August

Friday 4 August

#10 Thursday 10 August

Tuesday 22 August

Friday 25 August

#11 Thursday 31 August

Tuesday 12 September

Friday 15 September

#12 Thursday 21 September

Tuesday 3 October

Friday 6 October

#13 Thursday 12 October

Tuesday 24 October

Friday 27 October

#14 Thursday 2 November

Tuesday 14 November

Friday 17 November

#15 Thursday 23 November

Tuesday 28 November

Friday 1 December

#16 Thursday 7 December

2018 meetings

Papers due cob:

Papers distributed:

Meeting Date :

Tuesday 6 February

Friday 9 February

#1 Thursday 15 February

Tuesday 27 February

Friday 2 March

#3 Thursday 8 March

Tuesday 20 March

Friday 23 March

#4 Thursday 29 March

Tuesday 10 April

Friday 13 April

#5 Thursday 19 April

Tuesday 1 May

Friday 4 May

#6 Thursday 10 May

Tuesday 22 May

Friday 25 May

#7 Thursday  31 May

Tuesday 12 June

Friday 15 June

#8 Thursday 21 June

Tuesday 3 July

Friday 6 July

#9 Thursday 12 July

Tuesday 24 July

Friday 27 July

#10 Thursday 2 August

Tuesday 14 August

Friday 17 August

#11 Thursday 23 August

Tuesday 4 September

Friday 7 September

#12 Thursday 13 September

Tuesday 25 September

Friday 28 September

#13 Thursday 4 October

Tuesday 16 October

Friday 19 October

#14 Thursday 25 October

Tuesday 6 November

Friday 9 November

#15 Thursday 15 November

Tuesday 27 November

Friday 30 November

#16 Thursday 6 December

Committee contact

Executive Officer to University Executive (UE)
Linda Goodman
T +61 2 8627 6301
E

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE SharePoint site.