Westmead Precinct Board

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The purpose of the UE Westmead Precinct Board (UE WPB) is to provide direction, governance and decision making for the University’s investment in the Westmead Precinct.

It is responsible for five areas of activity:

  1. Leadership
    Championing the Westmead Initiative across the University and Westmead Precinct partners and other stakeholders.
  2. Oversight and academic governance of the University’s planning and activities concerning the Precinct
    Ensuring cross-Faculty collaboration and pan-Faculty oversight of the University’s activities at Westmead.
    Making recommendations to the University Executive and the Vice- Chancellor on the activities and direction of the Program.
    Making recommendations to Campus Infrastructure Services, Information, Communication and Technology and other Professional Services Units about capital and information communication and technology infrastructure priorities and delivery of support services at Westmead.
  3. Specific responsibilities
    Streamlining and managing approvals of:
    a. Academic Strategy
    b. All Program plans including annual Operations Plan and Program Budget
    Approving reports to the University Executive and Senate.
  4. Dispute resolution
    Resolving escalated issues from the Westmead Precinct Academic Committee or the Westmead Precinct Operations Committee.
  5. Quality control and risk management
    Monitoring risk mitigation and contingency plans.
    Commissioning quality assurance/reviews as required.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership



Director, The University of Sydney Westmead Initiative (Chair)

Professor Chris Peck

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Registrar) - nominee


Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) - nominee

Professor Duncan Ivison

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) - nominee

Professor Philippa Pattison AO

Nomination from Sydney Medical School

Professor Tania Sorrell

Nomination from Sydney Nursing School

Professor Donna Waters

Nomination from Sydney Pharmacy School

Professor Andrew McLachlan

Nomination from Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Joshua Burns

Nomination from Faculty of Science

Professor Pauline Ross

Nomination from Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Professor Annamarie Jagose

Nomination from Faculty of Engineering

Professor Kim Rasmussen

Nomination from The University of Sydney Business School

Professor John Buchanan

Nomination from The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning

Professor Robyn Dowling

Chief Operating Officer, Westmead Precinct

Ms Kate O'Sullivan

Chief Financial Officer

Mr Wayne Andrews

Director, Campus Infrastructure Services

Mr Greg Robinson

Chief Information Officer (or representative)

Ms Caroline Hungerford

 Vice-Principal (Strategy) (or representative)

Dr  Jeremy Hammond


Attendees will be invited at the discretion of the Chair

Meeting dates and deadlines

2019 Meetings

Agenda items due

Agenda distributed

Meeting date

Tuesday 12 February 2019

Friday 15 February 2019

Friday 22 February 2019

10.30am – 12.30pm

Friday 31 May 2019

Wednesday 5 June 2019

Wednesday 12 June 2019

2 – 4pm

Friday 4 October 2019

Wednesday 9 October 2019

Wednesday 16 October 2019

2 – 4pm

Committee contact

Committee Officer
Jacqueline Toroian
T +61 2 8627 6906

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE WPB SharePoint site.