Work Health and Safety Committee

The University Executive (UE) Work Health and Safety (WHS) Committee provides management and decision making about University-wide WHS issues.

Terms of Reference
Composition and membership
Meeting dates and submission deadlines
Committee contact
Meeting papers

Terms of Reference

The purpose of UE Committees is to:

  1. contribute to the ongoing development and implementation of University strategy;
  2. review operational matters and consider business-as-usual matters;
  3. monitor performance against domain KPIs; and
  4. be a conduit for institutional discussion and faculty discussions in the domain.

The UE WHS Committee will:

  1. oversee the implementation of the University’s WHS Strategic Plan.
  2. make recommendations to the UE ensuring an appropriate level of resourcing and management is given to mitigating health and safety risk across the University.
  3. in its role as the University-wide WHS Management Committee, monitor University WHS Performance across all areas of risk to health, safety and wellbeing and provides management and decision making about University-wide WHS issues requiring timely resolution.
  4. consult with HSRs on University-wide WHS issues that have not been able to be resolved at local levels and through usual HSR and consultation mechanisms.
  5. make management decisions to resolve the WHS issues it considers appropriate for the Committee to make, or if not considered within its terms, will decide further action.
  6. report on WHS performance and matters to the University Executive, via the Director, SHW, attending UE on a biannually/quarterly basis, as per the WHS item on the UE agenda.
  7. oversee management of risk within WHS responsibilities to ensure risks are managed within the University’s agreed appetite and tolerance levels, and escalate to the University Executive those risks that are outside of the Committee’s remit to resolve.
  8. may establish working sub-committees and working parties to assist with specific matters where it is considered that such a sub-committee is the best method by which to resolve a particular WHS issue.

The Committee's full terms of reference can be downloaded as a PDF.

Composition and membership





Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Stephen Garton (Chair)

Vice-Principal (Operations)

Stephen Phillips 

Director, Safety Health and Wellbeing

Julia Cohen

Chief Human Resources Officer

Karen Haywood

Director, Campus Infrastructure Services

Greg Robinson

5 Heads of School (minimum 1 from a University school)

Associate Professor Joel Negin

Head of School, Sydney School of Public Health


Professor Philip Gale

Head of School, School of Chemistry


Professor Dianne Wiley

Head of School, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


Professor John Redmond

Head of School and Dean, The University of Sydney School of Architecture, Design and Planning


Professor Iain Young

Head of School, School of Life and Environmental Sciences 

3 Faculty Deans

Professor Trevor Hambley

Dean, Faculty of Science


Professor Kim Rasmussen

Acting Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies


Professor Kathryn Refshauge

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

2 Health and Safety Representatives – by nomination from the body of elected Health and Safety Representatives (if one or both of the HSR representatives is unable to attend a meeting then they are able to nominate a replacement)

Rashid Idris

Technical Officer, School of Molecular Bioscience


Leanne Mumford

NTRO Coordinator, Research Reporting, Analysis, Data and Systems (RRADS)

Student representative – undergraduate (SRC)

James Gibson or Iman Farrar

Co-Vice-Presidents, SRC

Student representative – postgraduate (SUPRA)

Jocelyn Dracakis

nominee of Co-Presidents, SUPRA



Manager, Injury Management Services

Justine Sarin

Manager, Work Health and Safety Services

Matthew Mitchell

Representative from Sydney University Sports and Fitness

Paul Reynolds

The Arena Manager, Sydney Uni Sport and Fitness

Representative of the Office of General Counsel

Ashley Fry

Solicitor, Office of General Counsel

Representative from the University of Sydney Union WHS Committee

Rob Banister

Facilities Manager, USU

Any others as determined by the Chair when necessary


2018 Meeting dates and submission timelines

SHW Reports deadline to the Director, Safety Health & Wellbeing

Agenda Deadline to Secretariat

Meeting Date

Monday 26 February

Friday 2 March

Monday 12 March

Monday 23 April

Friday 27 April

Monday 7 May

Monday 30 July

Friday 3 August

Monday 13 August

Monday 24 September

Friday 28 September

Monday 8 October

Monday 26 November

Friday 30 November

Monday 10 December

Committee contact

Committee Officer
Tanya Gerrie
T +61 2 8627 1331

Meeting papers

Meeting papers are available on the secure UE WHS SharePoint site.