Fellows of Senate

Barry Catchlove AM

Dr Barry Catchlove is a Fellow of Senate elected by and from the graduates of the University of Sydney.

Dr Catchlove's term of office as a Fellow of Senate:

  • term 1: 24 February 2016 - 31 December 2017 (two years) - current term

Dr Catchlove's term of office as a Pro-Chancellor:

  • term 1: 2 May 2016 - 31 December 2017 (or for so long as in office)


MB BS Sydney
Fellow of Senate, 24 February 2016 -

Dr Barry Catchlove has more than 40 years' experience in healthcare, covering a range of clinical, medical administration and board appointments. He was appointed national president of the Australian Hospital Association and chairman of the Australian Council of Healthcare Standards.

Dr Catchlove was first elected as a Graduate Fellow of Senate in 2009 for a four year term, and is now re-elected to Senate. During his time on Senate Dr Catchlove was Pro-Chancellor (March 2013 – November 2013), Chair of the Safety and Risk Management Committee (March 2010 – November 2013) and a member of the Nominations and Appointments Committee (August 2010 – November 2013).

He was formerly President of the University of Sydney Alumni Council and President of the University of Sydney Medical Graduates’ Association.

His most recent appointment has been to the Sydney Local Health District Council, as Deputy Chair, which is a part of the newly reorganised Healthcare structure in Australia.

Although he originally trained as a physician/internist, Dr Catchlove has spent most of his professional life in health management, in both the public and private sectors.

In 2008 he was awarded an Honorary Fellowship in recognition of his extensive contributions to the University of Sydney.

In 2016 Dr Catchlove was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition of his service to medical administration, international business cooperation and education.