Fellows of Senate

Professor Simon Fenton Chapman

Professor Simon Chapman was a Fellow of Senate elected by and from the academic staff of the University of Sydney from 1 June 2007 to 31 May 2011.

He was a member of the following Senate committees:

  • Chair Appointments Committee
  • Nominations and Appointments Committee
  • Safety and Risk Management Committee
  • the former Advisory Committee for Honorary Awards

Professor Chapman's terms of office as a Fellow of Senate were as follows:

  • term 1: 1 June 2007 - 31 May 2009 (two years)
  • term 2: 1 June 2009 - 31 May 2011 (two years)


Fellow of Senate, 2007 - 2011
Professor of Public Health, School of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine

Professor Chapman has been a member of academic staff of the University from 1978 to 1981, and from 1988 to the present. During that time he has headed teaching and research committees, supervised some luminous research students, and promoted the introduction of new learning technologies. He has been Professor of Public Health, School of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine since 2000.


  • 370 articles in peer reviewed journals
  • 15 books, major reports
  • 310 newspaper op eds and letters
  • awarded a 2009 NHMRC Capacity Building Grant of $1,897,375 for ‘The Australian Health News Research Collaboration
  • Public Health Association of Australia, Sidney Sax Medal 2008, Australia's premier award for public health leadership - more
  • NSW Premier’s Cancer Researcher of the Year 2008
  • NSW finalist, Australian of the Year 2008
  • American Cancer Society’s Luther Terry medal for outstanding leadership in tobacco control 2003
  • World Health Organisation's World No Tobacco Day Medal 1997
  • Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission’s Community Human Rights medal (gun control) 1996
  • Member Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council thematic cluster “National Health, Well-Being and Security”
  • Life member, Australian Consumers’ Association
  • served for 20 years on the board of the Australian Consumers’ Association (4 as chair)
  • served 10 years on the Cancer Council NSW

Biography in the Faculty of Medicine, Online Museum and Archive