Senate elections

Election of five Fellows of Senate by and from the graduates of the University 2013

Declaration of election

The following have been declared as Fellows of Senate elected by and from the graduates of the University for a four year term of office commencing on 1 December 2013 and concluding on 30 November 2017:

The Hon Verity Firth 

The Hon Verity Firth,
BA LLB Sydney

Verity is CEO of the Public Education Foundation,
and was NSW Minister for Education and Training
from 2008 to 2011. 

Read Verity's election statement.

 Peter FitzSimons AM

Peter FitzSimons AM,
BA Sydney

A former Wallabies rugby union player, Peter has
been a non-fiction author and biographer since the
1990s, is also a sports journalist and has a
professional engagement in television and radio.
He has been a graduate Fellow of Senate since
1 December 2009.

Read Peter's election statement. 

 Kathryn McClymont

Kate McClymont,
BA(Hons) Sydney

Kate is an investigative journalist. She is a five-time
winner of journalism’s most prestigious award, the
Walkley award, was the 2012 NSW Journalist of the
Year and has also won awards for business, sport,
court and crime reporting.

Read Kate's election statement.

 Dr Catriona Menzies-Pike

Dr Catriona Menzies-Pike,
BA(Hons) PhD Sydney

Catriona works in independent media, formerly
as managing editor of daily news website New
Matilda, and is taking up an editorial role at
The Conversation website.

Read Catriona's election statement.

 Andrew West

Andrew West,
BA(Hons) Sydney MSc Columbia

Andrew is a broadcaster with ABC Radio National,
formerly a journalist with The Sydney Morning
Herald, and the author of two books on Australian
politics and culture.

Read Andrew's election statement.


View the Declaration of Election.