Honorary awards

Dr Hugh Dalton MP

The degree of Doctor of Science* was conferred ad eundem gradum upon Dr Hugh Dalton MP on 2 February 1938.

Dr Dalton was a British Labour Party politician and one of the distinguished visitors from overseas who had been invited by the Commonwealth and State Governments to attend the celebrations connected with the 150th Anniversary of the Foundation of Australia.

The Earl De La Warr, Dame Maria Ogilvie Gordon and Sir Josiah Stamp were also awarded honorary degrees at this ceremony.

* As there was no provision in the University Act until 1952 for conferring of honorary degrees by the University of Sydney, the University awarded a number of degrees 'ad eundem gradum' - mostly Doctor of Laws - as a mark of special honour. Those who received this award included members of the Royal Family, Governors-General, distinguished soldiers and leaders of industry.


From left: Dr Hugh Dalton, Dame Maria Ogilvie Gordon, the Chancellor Mr Justice Halse Rogers, the Earl de la Warr and Sir Josiah Stamp, photo, Queensland Times, 11 February 1938, National Library of Australia.