Honorary awards

Justice Elizabeth Andreas Evatt

The honorary degree of Doctor of Laws was conferred upon Justice Elizabeth Andreas Evatt by the Chancellor Sir Hermann Black at a special conferring of degrees ceremony held at 6.00pm on Thursday 2 May 1985 which celebrated the centenary of the first graduations by women at the University of Sydney.

Chief Judge of the Family Court of Australia since 1976 and a Medallist from the University's Law School, Justice Evatt became Deputy President of the Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission in 1973 and chaired the Royal Commission on Human Relationships and the Family Law Council in the following years.

The other four women awarded honorary degrees at the ceremony were Miss Helen Elizabeth (Betty) Archdale, Dr Margaret Mulvey, Ms Edna Ryan and Dr Grace Warren.

The five women who received honorary degrees.

The five women who received honorary degrees: from left to right, Dr Margaret Mulvey, Ms Edna Ryan, Miss Betty Archdale, Dr Grace Warren and Justice Elizabeth Evatt, photo, 'The University of Sydney News' 21 May 1985, University Archives.