Honorary awards

Diana Marmion Temple AM

The title of Honorary Fellow was conferred upon Diana Marmion Temple at the Medicine ceremony held on 25 May 2000.



I have much pleasure in presenting Diana Marmion Temple for the conferring of the title, Honorary Fellow of the University.

Diana Temple graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Western Australia, and later with a Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Sydney. She was Senior Lecturer at this University from 1966 to 1975, Associate Professor from 1976 to 1990, and Head of Department from 1976 to 1979. On her retirement, she was made an Honorary Associate of the Department of Pharmacology, and in 1995, a Life Member of the Faculty of Medicine.

Through her membership of ANZAAS committees, she provided a strong link between this University and the wider community of scientists, and contributed to public awareness of science. She was one of its long serving office bearers, as a member of the National Council from 1979 to 1985 and from 1992 to 1994, and as General Secretary from 1979 to 1985.

Diana Temple's work for women in science is unique. In 1984, she became a founding member of the Women in Science Enquiry Network (WISENET). Since 1990, she has been the organisation's national convener. WISENET encourages the participation and recognition of women in the sciences and technology. Diana's contribution has been essential for its birth and continuance. Her keen mind has brought a sharp objectivity to the question of why so few women pursue scientific careers.

She was a generous and respected member of this University's academic community. as a Fellow of Senate representing the academic staff from 1985 to 1987, an elected member of the Academic Board from 1976 to 1989, and as a member of numerous academic committees.

These achievements have complemented an academic career of distinction in medical science embracing biochemistry and pharmacology, particularly respiratory pharmacology.

Today, we acknowledge Diana Temple's contributions to the wider community as well as to our own.

Chancellor, I present to you Diana Marmion Temple AM PhD MSc for the conferring of the title, Honorary Fellow of the University.