Honorary awards

Irvine Armstrong Watson

The honorary degree of Doctor of Science in Agriculture was conferred upon preeminent agricultural scientist Irvine Armstrong Watson, BScAgr Sydney PhD Minnesota, at a conferring of degrees ceremony held in the Great Hall in 1979.

Watson was Professor of Agricultural Botany (Plant Breeding) at the University from 1962 to 1977 and Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture from 1966 to 1967.

He was a world leader in wheat research and a major contributor to the Australian wheat industry, being associated with the development and release of no less than 16 new high quality rust-resistant wheats. The Northwest Wheat Research Institute was renamed the I A Watson Wheat Research Centre in 1977 in honour of his contribution to wheat improvement in Australia.