Fellows of Senate

Belinda Jane Hutchinson AM

Belinda Jane Hutchinson AM is the Chancellor of the University of Sydney.

Belinda's term/s of office as Chancellor:

  • term 1: 4 February 2013 - February Senate meeting 2017 (four years) - current term

She is chair of the following Senate committees:

  • Chair Appointments Committee
  • Education and Research Committee
  • Nominations and Appointments Committee

and an ex-officio member of the following:

  • Buildings and Estates Committee
  • Finance and Audit Committee
  • Human Resources Committee
  • Investment and Commercialisation Committee
  • Safety and Risk Management Committee

Election as Chancellor


BEc Sydney, FCA
Chancellor, 4 February 2013 -

Belinda Hutchinson AM became the Chancellor of the University of Sydney on 4 February 2013.

She is a strong advocate for the critical role of world-class education and research in securing Australia’s social and economic future.

She has a deep interest in social impact investing and developing a culture of philanthropy. Her current not for profit boards include Australian Philanthropic Services, the Salvation Army Eastern Territory Advisory Board and St Vincent’s Health Australia’s NSW Advisory board. She is also Chairman of Future Generation Global Company, Australia’s largest impact investing fund. Her family foundation supports a variety of community-based initiatives such as the Hunger Project in Malawi, Africa.

In the business sphere, she is Chairman of Thales Australia Limited, a non-executive director of AGL Energy, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Institute of Company Directors. She was previously Chairman of QBE Insurance Group, a director of Telstra, Coles Myer, Energy Australia, TAB, St Vincent’s Health Australia, Crane Group, and President of the NSW State Library Council.

Belinda has taken a key role in championing increased opportunities for women in leadership positions as a past President of the Chief Executive Women organisation, which comprises more than 300 of the country’s women leaders.

Belinda Hutchinson is also one of our alumni. She graduated with a Bachelor of Economics in 1976, and in 2012 received a University Alumni Award for professional achievement.

Belinda Hutchinson is the University’s 18th Chancellor.