The Quadrangle

Building the Quadrangle

The diagram below, which is not to scale, indicates the various stages of the Quadrangle's construction between 1854 and the 1920s, and its completion in the 1960s.

The Quadrangle

Images and information about the stages of construction of the Quadrangle can be viewed by clicking on the links below:

 1850s - 1890s 1901 - 1909   1913 - c1920  1920s  1950s  1960s

Stage 1:
1854 - 1862

Stage 2:
1901 - 1909


Stage 3:
1913 - c1920

Stage 4:

Stage 5:

Stage 6:

East range &
Great Hall built

Fisher Library &
bookstack built

 Fisher Library
 & bookstack
 linked to
East range


War Memorial
Arch built

Tower &

Gothic Revival architecture

Gothic architecture, which flourished during the high and late medieval period, originated in France in the design of cathedrals characterised by the pointed arch, rib vaulting and flying buttresses. This style gave way to the Renaissance in the later 16th and 17th centuries, but a series of Gothic revivals began in mid-18th century England reviving the style of the Middle Ages. This movement spread through 19th century Europe and continued, largely for ecclesiastical and university structures, into the 20th century. As in Europe, the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand utilised the Gothic Revival style for the building of universities.

The Gothic Revival style, in particular Tudor Gothic, characterises the buildings which form the University's Quadrangle, probably the most important group of Gothic Revival buildings in Australia. Two significant and largely intact Gothic Revival style interiors of international importance are the Great Hall and MacLaurin Hall (formerly Fisher Library).