The Great Hall
Designed by Edmund Blacket, the Great Hall was built between 1854 and 1862, and officially opened on 18 July 1859.
On this webpage:
- Decorative features on the outside of the Great Hall
- Decorative features on the inside of the Great Hall
Also view a gallery of images of events held in the Great Hall.
Photos are courtesy of the University Secretariat unless otherwise indicated.
The Great Hall - enlargement,
The Science Road side of the Hall -
- Visit the Archives online exhibition on the Great Hall.
- Find out about the Great Hall's 150th anniversary celebrations in September 2009.
These include the following:
- bosses on string courses on the front and both side walls.
- coats of arms on the front and both side walls - see one below and view more images.
- dripstones on all three sides - mouldings over doorways, windows, archways, niches, etc, for ornament or to throw off the rain, and commonly terminating with a head, an animal, or other sculptured ornament - see one below and view more images.
- finials - two stone finials at each gable end of the roof - view images.
- gargoyles - unusual, fantastic, mythical or eerie carved creatures - see one below.
- pinnacles - stone pinnacles atop stepped buttresses on all sides of the building - view images.
- sculptures - by Tom Bass of a male and a female figure on the front of the Hall - view images.
Coat of arms of J B Darvall -
Carving of Queen Victoria's face at the
A gargoyle at the rear
These include the following:
- bosses - on a string course around the Great Hall.
- busts - of Arthur Renwick, Peter Nicol Russell, William Montagu Manning and Edward Deas Thomson - view images and information.
- carved angels decorating the hammer beam roof - view images and information.
- coats of arms on the stained glass windows and around the oriel window
- corbels supporting the roof - see one below and view images.
- fireplace - the Tudor fireplace in the south wall is for decoration only.
- floor of veined white and light grey marble (laid in 1874-1875)
- hammer beam roof - find out more from the Archives online exhibition.
- oriel balcony - above the fireplace, providing a view of the Hall from the Senate Room.
- portraits - of former Fellows of Senate who were Chancellor or Vice-Chancellor on the walls of the Hall - view images.
- stained glass windows - the Oxford, Cambridge and Royal windows and eleven smaller side windows - see below and view more images and information.
- statues - of John Henry Challis and William Charles Wentworth - view images and information.
- tapestry - the Gobelin tapestry of Joseph and his Brethren - unveiled for the inauguration of the Great Hall in 1859, initially on loan though subsequently donated by Sir Charles Nicholson - see below and Read "The Travails of a Tapestry", by Dr Ann Stephen.
A corbel bearing the arms of a
Image of Sir Walter Raleigh
The Gobelin tapestry of