Fellows of Senate

Dr Roslyn Bohringer

Dr Roslyn Bohringer was a Fellow of Senate elected by and from the academic staff of the University of Sydney from 1 December 2005 to 31 May 2011.

While a Fellow of Senate, Dr Bohringer was the Senate nominee on the Women's College Council (1 December 2009 - 31 May 2011) and a member of the Student Disciplinary Appeals Committee (September 2008 - 31 May 2011). She was also a Senate nominee on the Selection Committee for the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Planning) in 2006 and a member of the former Senate/Student Associations Liaison Committee, the Finance and Infrastructure Committee and the Senate/SRC Liaison Committee.

Dr Bohringer's terms of office as a Fellow of Senate were as follows:

  • term 1: 1 December 2005 - 31 May 2007 (1.5 year term)
  • term 2: 1 June 2007 - 31 May 2009 (two year term)
  • term 3: 1 June 2009 - 31 May 2011 (two year term)


Fellow of Senate, 2005 - 2011
Senior Lecturer, Discipline of Biomedical Science, Faculty of Medicine, Cumberland campus

Ros is a comparative and human anatomist who is a Senior Lecturer in the Discipline of Biomedical Science, School of Medical Science, Faculty of Medicine (Cumberland). Her research specialty is monotreme neurobiology. She has taught medical, science and health science students across all sub-disciplines of anatomy since 1972.

Before joining the University Ros had been the Head, Division of Anatomy at the Cumberland College of Health Sciences for some years. On joining The University of Sydney, she has been a member of Academic Board and a member of the Board’s Policy Advisory Committee. She has also served on selection and promotion committees and until recently was the Deputy Head, School of Biomedical Sciences.

In the 1980s Ros completed a Master of Educational Administration, most subjects for which were undertaken in the Australian Graduate School of Management (AGSM). Responding to the industrial changes within the sector and using this training along with her organisational experience, she became heavily involved in enterprise bargaining as a member of the successful National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) Core Bargaining Team in the first two rounds of bargaining. Formerly a member of both unions (FAUSA and FCA) from which the NTEU was formed, she has been an elected union official at all levels of the NTEU, including a term representing NSW on the first National Executive and three terms as NSW Division President. Her work with the union has also included membership of the National Research and Education Policy Committees. She was recently appointed as a member of the national NTEU Training, Education and Development Advisory Board.