Safety and Risk Management Committee


The role of the Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on matters relating to the safety of staff, students and others who have occasion to be present on the University’s campuses and specifically to the maintenance of occupational health and safety standards and practices and compliance with occupational health and safety laws and regulations as they apply to the University. The Committee will regularly review occupational health and safety reports prepared by management and may request reports on specific matters as it sees fit. The Committee also has responsibility for ensuring the effective management of risk in areas within its remit and for monitoring non-financial risk matters generally within the University unless they are dealt with by another committee of Senate.



  • The Chancellor
  • The Deputy Chancellor
  • The Vice-Chancellor and Principal

The Chair of the Safety and Risk Management Committee who is a Fellow of Senate (not a staff member or student) and is elected by Senate

— Two Fellows of Senate appointed by Senate after consultation by the Chair of the Committee with the Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor

– Two external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience in risk management and the occupational health and safety field appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the Chair of the Committee following consultation by the Chair with Fellows of Senate and others as appropriate. The Secretary to Senate will assist the Chair by seeking suggestions from Fellows of Senate when it is known that there is a position to be filled.

— Senate may, on the advice of the Committee, or of its own volition, appoint additional members as required.

Terms of office

Appointed members have terms of office of two years and no member is to serve for more than two consecutive terms.

The elected Chair has a term of office of two years and is not to serve for more than three consecutive terms.

All term limits are capable of waiver by Senate if recommended by the Nominations and Appointments Committee.


In accordance with current provisions governing election to Senate Committees.


The Committee meets four times per year.


At any meeting of the Committee three members shall form a quorum.

Reporting to Senate

In addition to a report to the Senate, a copy of the agendas and minutes of meetings will be made available to Fellows on the secure Senate website.

Secretary to the Committee

Director, Human Resources