Senior Deputies & Provosts

The position of Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor – as the Vice-Chancellor's senior deputy – existed from 2002 to 2004.

The title of Provost – which had been given to the Chancellor of the University from 1850 to 1860 – was reactivated in 2006, with the Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor being the Vice-Chancellor's senior deputy and deputising for the Vice-Chancellor in his absence. Together they are responsible for the general management of the University.

Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellors

2002-2004 Professor Kenneth John Eltis, BA UNE MA PhD Macquarie DipEd UNSW 

Provosts & Deputy Vice-Chancellors

2006-2009 Professor Don Nutbeam, BEd MA PhD S'ton 
2009–         Professor Stephen Garton, PhD UNSW BA Sydney, FAHA FASSA FRAHS