Honorary awards

The University of Sydney recognises

  • exceptional achievement by conferring an honorary degree.
  • outstanding service to the University by awarding the title of Honorary Fellow of the University.


Eligible persons are invited to submit nominations for honorary degrees and honorary fellows to the Secretary to Senate, Mr David Pacey as follows:

– on the nomination form

– due 30 April of each year

Note: Those approved by Senate will normally be awarded in the year following approval.


1. Those eligible to submit nominations

  • Fellows and former Fellows of Senate
  • the students of the University
  • the staff of the University
  • Principals of the residential colleges
  • the graduates of the University

2. Those eligible to be nominated

Those who meet the criteria are eligible to be nominated:


  • Fellows of Senate or members of staff* of the University will not be eligible for the award of an honorary fellowship while in office.
  • Former Fellows of Senate or former members of staff* will not normally be eligible for nomination for an honorary fellowship within two years of their retirement from the relevant office.

* Members of staff refers to full-time, part-time and casual members of University staff.
* An exception may be made for compensated work of a minor nature.

3. Confidentiality of nominations

Any person nominated for the award of an honorary degree or honorary fellowship shall not be consulted beforehand, nor at any time prior to the person being advised of Senate’s decision, and all nominations, deliberations, investigations and recommendations relating to the nomination shall be treated as strictly confidential by all persons concerned.

4. Process

  1. Nominations to the Secretary to Senate, Mr David Pacey, are due by 30 April.
  2. Nominations are considered by the Nominations and Appointments Committee.
  3. The Committee's recommendations are submitted to Senate for approval.
  4. Conferring of the successful honorary award nominations normally takes place in the year following approval.