Fellows of Senate

Associate Professor Anthony Frederick Masters

Associate Professor Tony Masters is Chair of the Academic Board and ex-officio Fellow of Senate.

Associate Professor Masters's term of office as a Fellow of Senate:

  • term 1: 1 January 2016 - 31 December 2017 (two years) - current term

Tony is an ex-officio member of the following Senate committees:

  • Chair Appointments Committee
  • Finance and Audit Committee
  • Nominations and Appointments Committee


Chair, Academic Board and ex-officio Fellow of Senate 2016 –

Associate Professor Masters is in the School of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, University of Sydney. He has been Associate Dean, Pro-Dean and Acting Dean, Faculty of Science; Chair, Academic Forum; Acting Chair, Academic Board; Deputy Chair, Academic Board; and Chair of the Board’s Graduate Studies Committee.

He is a member of the NTEU, and was awarded the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Higher Degree Supervision, the Polyhedron Best Paper Award and the Australian Sports Medal. Directorships include Medsaic Pty Ltd, ZingoTx Pty Ltd, Polymer CRC and Universities Admission Centre (NSW & ACT) Pty Ltd.

He was previously a Fellow of Senate elected by and from the academic staff from 1 December 2003 to 31 May 2007.

During that time he was a member of Senate’s Finance Committee and Finance and Infrastructure Committee, Senate/SUPRA Liaison Committee and Senate/Sports Liaison Committee, as well as a Senate representative on the Board of the University of Sydney Union.