Fellows of Senate

Dr Margaret Varady AO

Dr Margaret Varady AO was a Fellow of Senate of the University of Sydney appointed by the Minister for Education and Training from 1 January 2002 to 31 December 2009.

While a Fellow of Senate, Dr Varady was mentor for new Fellows of Senate (2004 – 2009), and was a member of the following Senate committees:

  • Ad hoc agenda committee for the Senate Retreat: 2008
  • Advisory Committee for Honorary Awards: 2006 - February 2008
  • Audit Committee / Audit and Risk Management Committee: 2002 - March 2007
  • Chair Appointments Committee: May 2006 - February 2008
  • Finance and Infrastructure Committee: March 2008 - 2009
  • Nominations Committee: 2006
  • Senate/Student Associations Liaison Committee: August 2007 - 2009
  • Student Academic Appeals Committee: 2004 - 2006

She was a Senate nominee on Selection Committees for:

  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor in the area of planning and resources: 2003
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Infrastructure): 2005
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Community): 2005
  • Deputy Provost (Learning and Teaching) and Pro-Vice-Chancellor: 2006
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning): 2008

and was also a Senate representative on the Council of Abercrombie Street Child Care Limited.


AO, BSc Otago MEd EdD UNSW DipEd Auck, FACE
Fellow of Senate: 2002 to 2009

Born in New Zealand, Margaret completed secondary school at small district high school, then attended Otago University (BSc) followed by Epson Teachers College (Dip Ed). She taught in Whangerei, New Zealand until 1972 when she moved to Sydney. She taught at Maroubra Girls High School and various other schools, and was consultant / PEO at the Board of Studies before being appointed Principal, Sydney Girls High School. She retired in 2008.

Margaret is also on the Trust at Centennial Parklands, the board of NSW Mental Health Education, is an ambassador for the Children’s Hospital Foundation and a member of Friends of Stewart House.

She has special interest in the culture of schools (and institutions); academically selective schools; developing young women leaders; public education and community involvement.