SEG committees

Underpinning SEG’s decision making are committees and divisional boards that undertake detailed analysis and planning.

The committees focus on key University-wide themes, such as education and research training, finance and infrastructure, and curriculum and course planning.

Information about each committee is available through the left-hand menu.

The following principles apply to committee and divisional board operations:

  • All committees and divisional boards are accountable to SEG, and thus to Senate.
  • In their work, all committees and boards are expected to give consideration to matters relating to Indigenous and international strategy, staff and students regardless of whether they are specifically addressed in their terms of reference.
  • Each committee will take care to ensure that, when an area of their deliberation touches on the remit of another committee, that committee is consulted.
  • Committee and board members will consult widely in preparation for meetings, and committees and boards will give consideration to the communication of the outcomes of their deliberations to stakeholders.
  • Committees may choose to revisit and refine their terms of reference, subject to SEG approval.
  • If a divisional board is unable to reach an agreement regarding an issue, it may be referred to SEG for a binding decision.

Committee Support

The University Secretariat provides executive and administrative support to SEG and its committees. SEG Committees and their respective committee officers are listed below.

SEG Committee Committee Officer
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Strategy and Services Committee Sarah Hepworth
Alumni, Development and Marketing Committee Tanya Gerrie
Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology Board Natalie Zawerucha
Colleges Consultative Committee Jacqueline Rule
Cultural Resources Committee Tanya Gerrie
Curriculum and Course Planning Committee Sarah Hepworth
Disability Action Plan Committee Tanya Gerrie
Education Committee Sarah Hepworth
Finance and Infrastructure Committee Matthew Charet
Human Resources and Equity Committee Tanya Gerrie
International Committee Victoria Hayward
Research Committee Natalie Zawerucha
Research Training Committee Victoria Hayward
Senior Executive Group Jacqueline Rule
Strategic Priority Areas for Collaboration Committee Tanya Gerrie
Work Health and Safety Committee Victoria Hayward