Work Health and Safety Committee

The Work Health and Safety (WHS) Committee monitors WHS performance, ensures a co-ordinated approach to WHS and deals with University-wide health and safety issues. The WHS Committee makes recommendations on systematic management of WHS risks for adoption by senior management and coordinates
approaches to health and safety within the University.


  • Mr John Dixon (Chair), Director, Human Resources
  • Professor Stephen Garton (Deputy Chair), Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Mr Greg Robinson, Director, Campus Infrastructure Services
  • Ms Sara Watts, Vice-Principal (Operations)

Faculty Dean representatives

  • Professor Mark Adams, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Environment
  • Professor Archie Johnston, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Professor Diane Mayer, Dean, Faculty of Education and Social Work
  • Professor Iqbal Ramzan, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Professor John Redmond, Dean, Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning
  • Professor Kathryn Refshauge, Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Ex-officio Members

  • Mr Doug King, SUPRA
  • Ms Julia Cohen, Director, Safety Health and Wellbeing
  • Ms Melissa de Silva, Casework and Policy Officer, Student Representative Council
  • Mr Paul Reynolds, The Arena Manager, Sydney Uni Sport and Fitness
  • Mr Les Wark, Facilities Director, University of Sydney Union
  • TBA Senior Solicitor, Office of General Counsel

Health and Safety Representatives

  • Mr Dick Bird, Teacher, Centre for English Teaching, DVC (Education) Portfolio
    Representative, DVC (Education) Portfolio
  • Mr John Dodson, Network Manager, School of Medical Sciences, Sydney Medical School
    Representative, Division of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy
  • Mr Ron Henderson, Facilities Co-ordinator, Faculty of Veterinary Science
    Representative, Division of Natural Sciences
  • Mr Brett Jones, Technical Officer, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
    Representative, Division of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Mr Andrew Lavery, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning, Sydney College of the Arts
    Representative, Division of Architecture and Creative Arts
  • Dr Martin Mackey, Senior Lecturer, Course Director, Bachelor of Applied Science (Physiotherapy), Faculty of Health Sciences
    Representative, Division of Health Sciences
  • Ms Leanne Mumford, NTRO Coordinator
    Representative, DVC (Research) Portfolio
  • Mr Andy Netherington, Facilities and Technical Officer, Sydney Law School
    Representative, Division of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Mr Patrick Ninh, Faculty Computer Laboratory Manager, University of Sydney Business School
    Representative, Division of Business
  • Ms Angele Taggart, Executive Assistant, Office of the Chief Financial Officer
    Representative, Finance