Human Resources and Equity Committee

The Human Resources and Equity Committee will oversee the successful management of the University’s human resources by developing strategies, policies and procedures to attract, retain and reward high quality staff, and to ensure that the University meets its gender and other equity goals.

Frequency of meetings: bimonthly


  • Professor Stephen Garton (Chair), Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Ms Jordi Austin, Director, Student Support Services
  • Ms Sara Watts, Vice-Principal (Operations)
  • Mr John Dixon, Director, Human Resources
  • Ms Fiona Krautil, Director, Equity and Diversity Strategy
  • Ms Nicole Elliott, Director, HR Relationship Management
  • Ms Jo Metzke, Director, Talent and Organisational Development
  • Ms Rebecca Rushton, Director, HR Strategy and Policy
  • Associate Professor Daniela Traini, Chair of the Academic Standards and Policy Committee

One member appointed by each divisional board

  • Professor Deborah Black, Associate Dean Staff Development
    Division of Health Sciences
  • Ms Jasmine Chambers, General Manager, Faculty of Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources, Faculty of Science,
    Faculty of Veterinary Science
    Division of Natural Sciences
  • Ms Clare Bayliss, General Manager, Faculty of Dentistry
    Division of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy
  • Ms Charlene Griffiths, Executive Officer, Sydney College of the Arts
    Division of Architecture and Creative Arts
  • Ms Louisa Johnson, Executive Director, Sydney Law School
    Division of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Mr Nigel Smith, Executive Director, Dean's Unit, The University of Sydney Business School
    Division of Business
  • Professor Melissa Yeung, School Manager, School of Electrical and Information Engineering
    Division of Engineering and Information Technologies

In attendance

  • Mr Dominic Stewart, Acting Senior Solicitor, Office of General Counsel