Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Strategy and Services Committee

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Strategy and Services Committee will develop strategies, policies and procedures and coordinate activity across the University to implement, monitor and refine the integrated Indigenous Participation, Engagement, Education and Research Strategy.

Frequency of meetings: monthly


  • Professor Shane Houston (Chair), Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services)
  • Ms Jordi Austin, Director, Student Support Services
  • Dr Andrew Black, Nominee, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research); Director, Research Development
  • Ms Annette Cairnduff, Director, Social Inclusion
  • Mr John Dixon, Acting Director, Human Resources
  • Ms Haylene Grogan, Director, Operational Reform
  • Ms Kylie Gwynne, Director, Poche Centre
  • Ms Vanessa Lee, Senior Lecturer Indigenous Health
  • Ms Johanna Lowe, Nominee, Marketing and Communications; Head, Marketing, Communications and Engagement
  • Dr Maree Murray, Director, Equity and Diversity Strategy Centre
  • Ms Lynette Riley, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services); Academic Leader
  • Mr Vladimir Williams, Manager, Indigenous Employment, Koori Centre

One member appointed by each divisional board

  • Professor Mark Adams, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Environment
    Division of Natural Sciences
  • Professor Deborah Black, Associate Dean, Staff Development, Faculty of Health Sciences
    Division of Health Sciences
  • Mr Keiran Passmore, Executive Director, Engineering Sydney, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
    Division of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Professor Chris Peck, Dean, Faculty of Dentistry
    Division of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy
  • Professor Michael Tawa, Professor of Architecture, Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning
    Division of Architecture and Creative Arts
  • Professor Andrew Terry, Professor of Business Regulation, University of Sydney Business School
    Division of Business
  • Associate Professor Fran Waugh, Dean (Acting), Faculty of Education and Social Work
    Division of Humanities and Social Sciences

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

  • Mr Kyol Blakeney, Indigenous undergraduate student
  • Mr Mike Butler, Indigenous postgraduate student

In attendance

  • Richard Fisher, General Counsel