International Committee

The International Committee will review and recommend for SEG approval all university-wide strategies and related proposals to advance internationalization and international engagement. This includes reviewing, and recommending for implementation and financial support, annual strategic initiatives received from the Regional Advisory Groups (RAGs); university-wide international programs, policies and guidelines; and regional priorities for university-wide engagement.

Frequency of meetings: quarterly


  • Dr Michael Spence, Chair; Vice-Chancellor and Principal
  • Dr Andrew Black, Director, Research Development and Collaboration
  • Professor Kerry Brown, Director, China Studies Centre
  • Professor Tyrone Carlin, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Registrar)
  • Professor Michele Ford, Director and Future Fellow, Sydney Southeast Asia Centre
  • Dr Bates Gill, CEO, United States Study Centre
  • Ms Rosalind Ogilvie, Director, Alumni and Development
  • Ms Leonie Patrick, Director, International Services
  • Ms Sandra Meiras, Director, Office of Global Engagement
  • Ms Marian Theobald, Director, Marketing and Communications

One member appointed by each divisional board

  • Professor Patrick Brennan, Associate Dean and Director International Research and Development, Faculty of Health Sciences
    Division of Health Sciences
  • Ms Jas Chambers, General Manager, Division of Natural Sciences
    Division of Natural Sciences
  • Professor Elizabeth Cowley, Deputy Dean (Academic), University of Sydney Business School
    Division of Business
  • Associate Professor Kirsty Foster, Associate Dean (International), Sydney Medical School and Head, Office of Global Health
    Division of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy
  • Associate Professor Lesley Harbon, Associate Dean International, Faculty of Education and Social Work
    Division of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Professor Archie Johnston, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
    Division of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Dr Karl Kramer, Dean and Principal, Sydney Conservatorium of Music
    Division of Architecture and Creative Arts