Research Committee

The Research Committee will develop a comprehensive, detailed and evidence-based understanding of the University’s research enterprise. It will provide advice on all research matters, including strategy, policy, support processes, resource allocation and research integrity.

Frequency of meetings: monthly


  • Professor Jill Trewhella (Chair), Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
  • Ms Anne Bell, University Librarian
  • Professor Marie Carroll, Nominee, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education); Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs)
  • Professor Shane Houston, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services)
  • Associate Professor Peter McCallum, Chair of the Academic Board
  • Mr David Oosthuizen, Finance Director, Financial Planning and Analysis
  • Professor Laurent Rivory, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Collaborations and Partnerships)
  • Professor Stephen Simpson, ARC Laureate Fellow, Academic Director, Charles Perkins Centre
  • Mr Thomas Soem, International Development Officer, Office of the Vice-Chancellor and Principal
  • Associate Professor Daniela Traini, Chair of the Academic Standards and Policy Committee, Academic Board
  • Vacant, one Director of a University affiliated independent medical research institute

One member appointed by each faculty

  • Professor Sally Andrews, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Science
    Faculty of Science
  • Professor Linda Barwick, Associate Dean (Research), Sydney Conservatorium of Music
    Sydney Conservatorium of Music
  • Professor Katherine Belov, Professor of Comparative Genomics, Faculty of Veterinary Science
    Faculty of Veterinary Science
  • Professor Macdonald Christie, Professor & NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow, School of Medical Sciences
    Sydney Medical School
  • Professor William Christie, Pro-Dean Research, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
    Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Professor Mary Collins, Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Pharmacy
    Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Professor Matthew Conaglen, Associate Dean (Research), Sydney Law School
    Sydney Law School
  • Professor Elizabeth Cowley, Associate Dean (Research), University of Sydney Business School
    Sydney Business School
  • Associate Professor Murray Fisher, Associate Professor, Sydney Nursing School
    Sydney Nursing School
  • Professor Ross Gibson, Associate Dean (Research), Sydney College of the Arts
    Sydney College of the Arts
  • Associate Professor Susan Goodwin, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Education and Social Work
    Faculty of Education and Social Work
  • Professor Michael Kassiou, Associate Dean (Research and Innovation), Faculty of Health Sciences
    Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Professor Alex McBratney, Pro-Dean and Director, Australian Centre for Precision Agriculture, Faculty of Agriculture and Environment
    Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Dr Ky-Anh Nguyen, Senior Lecturer Institute of Dental Research, Faculty of Dentistry
    Faculty of Dentistry
  • Professor John Patterson, Professor, School of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
    Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Professor Peter Phibbs, Professor, Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning
    Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning

In attendance

  • Ms Sara Hofman, Senior Solicitor, Office of General Counsel