Research Training Committee

The Research Training Committee will develop strategies, policies and procedures and coordinate activity across the University to enhance research training throughout all undergraduate and graduate programs. This shall include undergraduate honours programs and all higher degrees by research.

Frequency of meetings: monthly


  • Professor Duncan Ivison (Chair), Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Ms Jordi Austin, Director, Student Support Services
  • Associate Professor Simon Barrie, Director, Institute for Teaching and Learning
  • Ms Haylene Grogan, Nominee, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services), Director, Operational Reform
  • Ms Rebecca Halligan, Nominee, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research); Director, Research Integrity
  • Ms Kylee Hartman-Warren, Vice-President (Community), a student nominated by SUPRA
  • Associate Professor Peter McCallum, Chair, Academic Board
  • Mr David Pink, President, Student Representative Council

One member appointed by each divisional board

  • Associate Professor Javid Atai, Sub-Dean (Research Training) Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
    Division of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Associate Professor Ross Coleman, Associate Professor, Centre for Research on Ecological Impacts of Coastal Cities, School of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
    Division of Natural Sciences
  • Dr Andrew Edgar, Senior Lecturer, Sydney Law School
    Division of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Associate Professor Stephen Greaves, Director of Doctoral Studies, University of Sydney Business School
    Division of Business
  • Professor Sharon Kilbreath, Professor, Physiotherapy, Faculty of Health Sciences
    Division of Health Sciences
  • Dr Carolyn Scott, Conjoint Senior Lecturer & Senior Research Fellow, Kolling Institute for Medical Research
    Division of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy
  • Dr Martin Tomitsch, Lecturer, Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning
    Division of Architecture and Creative Arts

In attendance

  • Mr Richard Fisher, General Counsel