Divisional boards

Underpinning SEG’s decision making are committees and divisional boards that undertake detailed analysis and planning.

The divisional boards are charged with detailed strategic planning, portfolio analysis, and educational and research reform for groups of cognate faculties. Their focus is not on University-wide strategies, but on the particularities of diverse educational and research communities.

Information about each divisional board is available through the left-hand menu.

The following principles apply to committee and divisional board operations:

  • All committees and divisional boards are accountable to SEG, and thus to Senate.
  • In their work, all committees and boards are expected to give consideration to matters relating to Indigenous and international strategy, staff and students regardless of whether they are specifically addressed in their terms of reference.
  • Each committee will take care to ensure that, when an area of their deliberation touches on the remit of another committee, that committee is consulted.
  • Committee and board members will consult widely in preparation for meetings, and committees and boards will give consideration to the communication of the outcomes of their deliberations to stakeholders.
  • Committees may choose to revisit and refine their terms of reference, subject to SEG approval.
  • If a divisional board is unable to reach an agreement regarding an issue, it may be referred to SEG for a binding decision.

Divisional Board Support

The University Secretariat provides administrative support to the Divisional Boards. The Divisional Boards and their respective committee officers are listed below.

Divisional Board Committee Officer
Division of Architecture and Creative Arts Mark Smith
Division of Business Jo Cahill
Division of Engineering and Information Technologies Jo Cahill
Division of Humanities and Social Sciences Sarah Hepworth
Division of Natural Sciences Matthew Charet
Joint Board of the Divisions of Health Victoria Hayward