2012 Widening Participation Grants awarded

The Social Inclusion Unit is pleased to announce the successful applicants for the Widening Participation Grants 2012. Grants were awarded in the following categories:

  1. Flagship projects
    These grants support faculties or divisions to engage in partnership activities with schools or communities aimed at widening participation.
  2. Implementation grants
    These grants support implementation and integration of inclusive teaching strategies into curricula and teaching, especially in first-year units.

All Widening Participation Grants applicants have received an invitation to join the Widening Participation Network. The Network provides support for the professional development and collaborative learning of the project teams, and supports the development and implementation of Widening Participation projects.

All interested staff from the University are welcome to become members of the Widening Participation Network. For information about meetings and agendas please contact Mary Teague by email at .

$50,000 Flagship Projects

Title of application Project leader/contact
Completing the Circle: Creating an Inclusive and Community-Engaged Faculty Michael McDonnell, Department of History
Developing an inclusive music pedagogy in partnership with the Regional Conservatoriums: SCM Buddy Program Anna Reid, Sydney Conservatorium of Music

$20,000 Implementation Projects

Title of application Project leader/contact
Music and Drawing in Compass partner schools Jennifer Rowley, Conservatorium of Music
Moving from aspiration to capacity: engaging with schools in our local neighbourhood Margot Rawsthorne, Faculty of Education and Social Work
Introduction of Study Hall to enhance academic and social outcomes for first year students Jennifer Barrett, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Widening participation in the Faculty of Veterinary Science through building on Community Engagement initiatives Russell Bush, Faculty of Veterinary Science
Belong@FHS: Implementing a Faculty-Wide Peer Mentoring Scheme for Health Sciences Students Sarah Lewis, Discipline of Medical Radiation Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
Launch Your Business Career Sandra Robertson, University of Sydney Business School