Advisory Board

Dr Stuart McGill

Dr Stuart McGill

Dr Stuart McGill is a governor of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia, a member of the advisory board for the University of Sydney’s John Grill Centre for Project Leadership, a board member of the Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering, and a council member of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Foundation at the University.

Dr Mark Butler

Dr Mark Butler
Head Teacher of Science, Gosford High School; National Education Convener of the Australian Institute of Physics

Dr Mark Butler also serves on the advisory board of the Centre for Ultrahigh Bandwidth Devices for Optial Systems (CUDOS) at the University of Sydney, and the advisory boards of MQ-Photonics, Science/Industry and the Opening Real Science reference group at Macquarie University.

Professor Gregory Chamitoff

Professor Gregory Chamitoff
Lawrence Hargrave Professor of Aeronautical Engineering, University of Sydney; former NASA Astronaut

Gregory Chamitoff is also a Professor of Engineering Practice and Director of AeroSpace Technology Research and Operations Center at Texas A&M University, a Research Affiliate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Associate Fellow at the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Professor Chamitoff has been involved in numerous STEM outreach activities for the University of Sydney, using his experience as a NASA Astronaut to inspire high school students to pursue STEM-related careers.

Murat Dizdar

Murat Dizdar PSM
Deputy Secretary, School Operations and Performance

As the NSW Department of Education Deputy Secretary, School Operations and Performance, Murat is responsible for over 2,200 primary, secondary and special schools.

Murat has been a key contributor to the development of vibrant, sustainable and inclusive school communities throughout his career. This includes time as Principal of Punchbowl Boys High School and Yuzyil Isil International High School in Istanbul, Turkey, as a Senior Principal across Punchbowl and Belmore Boys High Schools, in senior executive roles in Granville and South Western Sydney and most recently as the Executive Director of the Ultimo Operational Directorate.

Education is his life’s passion and he champions the work of highly effective school leaders to achieve a ‘level playing field’ for all public school students in NSW so that every student, every teacher and every school can improve every year.

Dr Phil Lambert

Dr Phil Lambert PSM
General Manager, Curriculum, Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority

Dr Phil Lambert is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Sydney and Nanjing Normal University in China. He is a long standing board member of the Australian Children’s Television Foundation and is Deputy Chair of the national Foundation to Prevent Violence Against Women and their Children.

In the 2012 Queen’s Birthday Honours he was awarded the Public Service Medal for his outstanding contribution to education and was acknowledged for his outstanding community work and leadership in a unanimous resolution in the Parliament of NSW.

Adam Spencer

Adam Spencer
Ambassador for Mathematics and Science, University of Sydney

Adam Spencer is a well-known, high-profile mathematician and science communicator. His TED talk on massive prime numbers has more than a million views. His passion lies in helping to create the next generation of teachers who will inspire our children to take the mathematical path.

Julie Vonwiller

Dr Julie Vonwiller
Non-Executive Director, Appen Butler Hill Pty Ltd

Dr Julie Vonwiller received her PhD in linguistics from Macquarie University, and then worked for a number of years in academia. She founded Appen, a speech technology company in 1996.

In 2007, Dr Vonwiller received an Innovation Hero award from The Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering at the University of Sydney and the Alumni Award for Distinguished Service from Macquarie University in 2008. In 2008, Julie & Chris Vonwiller received the Inaugural Prime Minister’s Exporter of the Year Award for Appen.

Dr Alan Finkel

Dr Alan Finkel AO FTSE (Strategic Advisor)
Chancellor, Monash University; President, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

Dr Alan Finkel is also Co-founder and Chairman of Cosmos magazine, chairman of the Australian Centre of Excellence for All-Sky Astrophysics and Executive Chairman of Stile Education.

Dr Finkel is passionate about educating the next generation: he established the Australian Course in Advanced Neuroscience to provide advanced training to early-career scientists and he leads a secondary school science program in Science and Technology Education Leveraging Relevance that is running in nearly 400 secondary schools throughout Australia.