Workshops: Semester 1 2017

On this page you will find the MLC Revision workshop schedule planned for Semester 1.

To register, go to MLC Drop-in Centre Carslaw room 177 or just turn up. Places are limited so preference will be given to students who register.

We have workshops for:

MATH1001

These workshops will be held on Tuesdays between 1pm and 2pm in Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250

This is a draft list of topics and may change to accommodate the needs of the students.

  • Revision Workshop 1 – Tuesday 21 March 2017 (Week 3)
    Complex numbers in cartesian and polar form
  • Revision Workshop 2 – Tuesday 28 March 2017 (Week 4)
    nth roots, exp(iΘ) and exp(z)
  • Revision Workshop 3 – Tuesday 4 April 2017 (Week 5)
    Revision for Quiz 1
  • Revision Workshop 4 – Tuesday 11 April 2017 (Week 6)
    Functions of two variable: Partial derivatives, Level curves and surfaces
  • No workshop on Tuesday 25 April (Week 7) due to public holiday
  • Revision Workshop 5 – Tuesday 2 May 2017 (Week 8)
    Functions of two variables: Tangent planes and limits
  • Revision Workshop 6 – Tuesday 9 May 2017 (Week 9)
    Further limits and implicit differentiation
  • Revision Workshop 7 –Tuesday 16 May 2017 (Week 10)
    Directional derivatives and the gradient function
  • Revision Workshop 8 – Tuesday 23 May 2017 (Week 11)
    Revision for Quiz 2
  • Revision Workshop 9 – Tuesday 30 May 2017 (Week 12)
    Limit laws and the hyperbolic functions
  • Revision Workshop 10 – Tuesday 6 June 2017 (Week 13)
    Taylor polynomials and Taylor series

MATH1002

These workshops will be held on Fridays between 1pm and 2pm in Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250

  • Revision Workshop 1 – Friday 17 March 2017 (Week 2)
    Vectors in the plane and space
  • Revision Workshop 2 – Friday 24 March 2017 (Week 3)
    The dot product and projections
  • Revision Workshop 3 – Friday 31 March 2017 (Week 4)
    The cross product and its applications
  • Revision Workshop 4 – Friday 7 April 2017 (Week 5)
    Lines and planes in space
  • Note: There will be no Revision Workshop on Friday 14 April due to the Public Holiday
  • Revision Workshop 5 – Friday 28 April 2017 (Week 7)
    Systems of linear equations and augmented matrices
  • Revision Workshop 6 – Friday 5 May 2017 (Week 8)
    Matrix arithmetic
  • Revision Workshop 7 – Friday 12 May 2017 (Week 9)
    Inverse of a matrix
  • Revision Workshop 8 – Friday 19 May 2017 (Week 10)
    Revision for Quiz 2
  • Revision Workshop 9 – Friday 26 May 2017 (Week 11)
    Determinants and their properties
  • Revision Workshop 10 – Friday 2 June 2017 (Week 12)
    Eigenvalues and eigenvectors
  • Revision Workshop 11 – Friday 9 June 2017 (Week 13)
    Diagonalisation of matrices

MATH1011

These workshops will be held on Thursdays between 1pm and 2pm in Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250

  • Revision Workshop 1 – Thursday 16 March 2017 (Week 2)
    Radian measure and the sine and cosine functions
  • Revision Workshop 2 – Thursday 23 March 2017 (Week 3)
    More sine and cosine functions and their modification
  • Revision Workshop 3 – Thursday 30 March 2017 (Week 4)
    Revision of exponentials and log laws
  • Revision Workshop 4 – Thursday 6 April 2017 (Week 5)
    Revision for Quiz 1
  • Revision Workshop 5 – Thursday 13 April 2017 (Week 6)
    Applications of differentiation
  • Revision Workshop 6 – Thursday 27 April 2017 (Week 7)
    Coordinate geometry in 3D and functions of two variables
  • Revision Workshop 7 – Thursday 4 May 2017 (Week 8)
    More functions of two variables and partial derivatives
  • Revision Workshop 8 – Thursday 11 May 2017 (Week 9)
    Maxima and minima problems of functions of two variables
  • Revision Workshop 9 – Thursday 18 May 2017 (Week 10)
    Maxima and minima problems of functions of two variables
  • Revision Workshop 10 – Thursday 25 May 2017 (Week 11)
    Revision for Quiz 2
  • Revision Workshop 11 – Thursday 1 June 2017 (Week 12)
    The definite integral and integration techniques
  • Revision Workshop 12 – Thursday 8 June 2017 (Week 13)
    Further integration and its applications, and Improper integrals

MATH1111

The MATH1111 Revision Workshops will begin on Friday 17 March at 1pm to 2pm and will be held each week in Eastern Avenue seminar room 116.

Note: There will be no Revision Workshop on Friday 14 April due to the Public Holiday.

PSYC2012

The PSYC2012 Revision Workshops will be held each week beginning in Week 2 in Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250 as follows:

Mondays: 11 am to 12pm

OR

Wednesday: 12pm to 1pm

PUBH5018

The PUBH5018 Revision Workshops will be held each week beginning in Week 3 as follows:

Thursdays: 10 am to 11am
Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250

OR

Thursday: 4pm to 5pm
Carslaw room 359

Maths Revision Workshops for Economics

All workshops with be held from 4pm to 6pm in Sydney Nanoscience Hub seminar room 4001
  • Revision workshop 1: 21 March 2017
    Basic Algebra
  • Revision workshop 2: 28 March 2017
    Summation (sigma notation)
  • Revision workshop 3: 4 April 2017
    Graphs of straight lines and quadratics
  • Revision workshop 4: 11 April 2017
    Solving equations, inequalities and differentiation
  • Revision workshop 5: 2 May 2017
    More differentiation