Workshops: Semester 2 2017

On this page you will find the MLC Revision workshop schedule planned for Semester 2.

To register, go to MLC Drop-in Centre Carslaw room 177 or just turn up. Places are limited so preference will be given to students who register.

We have workshops for:

MATH1003

These workshops will be held on Thursdays between 1pm and 2pm in Carslaw room 361

  • Revision Workshop 1 – Thursday 10 August 2017 (Week 2)
    Riemann sums and the definite integral
  • Revision Workshop 2 – Thursday 17 August 2017 (Week 3)
    Estimation of integrals using Riemann sums and vice versa
  • Revision Workshop 3 – Thursday 24 August 2017 (Week 4)
    Volumes of revolution
  • Revision Workshop 4 – Thursday 31 August 2017 (Week 5)
    Integration by substitution and integration by parts
  • Revision Workshop 5 – Thursday 7 September 2017 (Week 6)
    Revision for Quiz 1
  • Revision Workshop 6 – Thursday 14 September 2017 (Week 7)
    Natural logs and exponentials and introduction to DEs
  • Revision Workshop 7 –Thursday 21 September 2017 (Week 8)
    First order DEs – separable equations and techniques for solution
  • Revision Workshop 8 – Thursday 5 October 2017 (Week 9)
    First order DEs – growth and decay models and techniques for solution
  • Revision Workshop 9 – Thursday 12 October 2017 (Week 10)
    Revision for Quiz 2
  • Revision Workshop 10 – Thursday 19 October 2017 (Week 11)
    First order DEs – Linear equations and real world examples
  • Revision Workshop 11 – Thursday 26 October 2017 (Week 12)
    Second order homogeneous linear equations and predictor/prey models

MATH1013

These workshops will be held on Thursdays between 1pm and 2pm in Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250.

  • Revision Workshop 1 – Thursday 10 August 2017 (Week 2)
    Absolute and relative growth rates
  • Revision Workshop 2 – Thursday 17 August 2017 (Week 3)
    Equilibrium and stability
  • Revision Workshop 3 – Thursday 24 August 2017 (Week 4)
    Separation of variables
  • Revision Workshop 4 – Thursday 31 August 2017 (Week 5)
    Revision for Quiz 1
  • Revision Workshop 5 – Thursday 7 September 2017 (Week 6)
    Partial fractions and the logistic model
  • Revision Workshop 6 – Thursday 14 September 2017 (Week 7)
    Applications of the logistic model
  • Revision Workshop 7 –Thursday 21 September 2017 (Week 8)
    Difference equations and stability
  • Revision Workshop 8 – Thursday 5 October 2017 (Week 9)
    Iteration
  • Revision Workshop 9 – Thursday 12 October 2017 (Week 10)
    The logistic difference function
  • Revision Workshop 10 – Thursday 19 October 2017 (Week 11)
    Revision for Quiz 2
  • Revision Workshop 11 – Thursday 26 October 2017 (Week 12)
    Interactions: pairs of first order DEs or recurrence equations

MATH1014

These workshops will be held on Mondays between 1pm and 2pm in Fisher Library South Level 2 room 250.

Revision Workshop 1 – Monday 7 August 2017 (Week 2)
Geometry and algebra of vectors

Revision Workshop 2 – Monday 14 August 2017 (Week 3)
Length, dot product and cross product

Revision Workshop 3 – Monday 21 August 2017 (Week 4)
Lines and Planes

Revision Workshop 4 – Thursday 28 August 2017 (Week 5)
Revision for Quiz 1 (modular arithmetic if time allows)

Revision Workshop 5 – Monday 4 September 2017 (Week 6)
Code vectors and systems of linear equations

Revision Workshop 6 – Monday 11 September 2017 (Week 7)
Gaussian elimination and applications

Revision Workshop 7 – Monday 18 September 2017 (Week 8)
Matrix algebra

No workshop in Week 9 due to the Public Holiday

Revision Workshop 8 – Monday 9 October 2017 (Week 10)
The inverse of a matrix and Markov chain models

Revision Workshop 9 – Monday 16 October 2017 (Week 11)
Revision for Quiz 2 (Leslie population models if time allows)

Revision Workshop 10 – Monday 23 October 2017 (Week 12)
Determinants

Revision Workshop 11 – Monday 30 October 2017 (Week 13)
Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors

Maths Revision Workshops for Economics

These workshops will be held on Tuesdays between 4pm and 5pm in Abercrombie Business School seminar room 3020.

  • Revision workshop 1 – Tuesday 15 August 2017 (Week 3)
    Basic algebra; summation (sigma notation)
  • Revision workshop 2 – Tuesday 22 August 2017 (Week 4)
    Linear equations
  • Revision workshop 3 – Tuesday 29 August 2017 (Week 5)
    Quadratic equations; simultaneous linear equations
  • Revision workshop 4 – Tuesday 5 September 2017 (Week 6)
    Intro to differential calculus with applications
  • Revision workshop 5 – Tuesday 12 September 2017 (Week 7)
    Differential calculus and optimisation

Mathematics for Business

These notes may be useful for students studying economics and business.

Mathematics modules for Masters of Economics students

Matrix algebra modules

These matrix modules have been designed for you to work through, so get the most out of them, you need to do the examples for yourself.

Matrix algebra files for MATH1014