In Conversation with Lionel Shriver

Co-presented with the School of Letters, Art and Media (SLAM), Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, at the University of Sydney

Lionel Shriver writes big, feelingful, socially and emotionally engaged novels of everyday horror, perversion and compulsion in the tradition of Flaubert and Wharton. We Need To Talk About Kevin, a novel in letters written by the mother of a school shooter, won the prestigious Orange Prize in 2005 and became an international sensation. Join us for an exclusive Sydney conversation with University of Sydney academic and poet, Associate Professor Kate Lilley.

Lionel Shriver


Lionel Shriver is well known for her international bestselling and award-winning novel We Need to Talk About Kevin. Her most recent publication is Big Brother, a confronting story of a sister who risks her marriage to save her morbidly obese brother. Other books include New Republic, So Much For That, The Post-Birthday World, Double Fault, and Game. She writes frequently for The Guardian and The Independent. She lives in London and Brooklyn, New York.

Lionel is in Australia as a guest of the Perth Writers’ Festival and touring the east coast for out of season events with Byron Bay Writers’ Festival, Brisbane Writers’ Festival and The Wheeler Centre.

Gleebooks will be on site for book sales and Lionel will be signing books after the event.