The Veterinary Science Foundation, established in 2000, is based within the Faculty of Veterinary Science. It was created from the restructuring of an existing longstanding body, the J D Stewart Foundation, named in honour of the Faculty's first Dean.

The imperative to restructure into an entity with a full-time Director was the result of an increasing need to seek external, non-government funds to support the Faculty of Veterinary Science into the future.

The Foundation's Organisational Structure

The Veterinary Science Foundation is a Foundation of the University of Sydney. It is not a separate legal entity and operates as part of the University of Sydney, with responsibility to the University Senate.

The University of Sydney is a statutory authority of New South Wales and operates under:

  • the University of Sydney Act
  • the NSW Public Finance and Audit Act

The Foundation, and its Annual Report, is required to pass the review and scrutiny of the University of Sydney Senate and the Senate Finance Committee (the Foundation is not covered by the Corporations Law, and is not required to provide separate financial reporting).

Senior members of the University are ex-officio members of the Council of the Veterinary Science Foundation including the Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

The Veterinary Science Foundation is supported by a Council that includes the Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Science. The Executive Committee acts in the role of an advisory Board to the Foundation and does not have executive powers. The Committee meets monthly.