Skip to main content

Building and Estates Committee

Overseeing the University's infrastructure
The Building and Estates Committee monitors and advises Senate on the management of the University’s real property and physical infrastructure.

The Building and Estates Committee oversees the management of the University’s property and infrastructure with particular reference to:

  • major capital developments
  • infrastructure management
  • operating resource allocation
  • sustainability
  • ensuring effective risk management in the areas covered by the committee’s remit
  • conducting deep dive reviews in the areas covered by the committee’s remit.

Full terms of reference (pdf, 500KB)

Agendas and papers are distributed to committee members by the University Secretariat. Agenda items can be be submitted via the Senate submission template (doc, 85KB).

Agenda items due Meeting date Meeting time

Wednesday 20 February

Friday 1 March

9.30am -12pm 

Monday 8 April

Wednesday 17 April

9.30am - 12pm 

Wednesday 29 May

Friday 7 June

9.30am - 12pm 

Wednesday 3 July

Friday 12 July

9.30am - 12pm 

Monday 19 August

Wednesday 28 August

9.30am - 12pm 

Wednesday 18 September

Monday 30 September 

9.30am -12pm

Wednesday 30 October

Friday 8 November 9.30am -12pm 
Agenda items due  Meeting date  Meeting time
Friday 14 February    Friday 28 February          9.30am - 12pm
Friday 10 April  Friday 24 April  9.30am - 12pm
Friday 22 May  Friday 5 June 9.30am -12pm
Friday 3 July  Friday 17 July 9.30am -12pm
Friday 14 August         Friday 28 August  9.30am -12pm
Friday 25 September Friday 9 October  9.30am -12pm
Friday 20 November  Friday 4 December  9.30am -12pm
Chair and ex-officio members

The chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of office
Peter Scott
Current term as Chair
Jun 2019 – May 2021

Previous term as Chair
Aug 2016 – Dec 2017

Belinda Hutchinson AM
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2021

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
ex-officio member

Current term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Dr Michael Spence AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2013 – Dec 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2008 – Jun 2013
Fellows of senate

Three Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Member Term of office

Dave Burrows

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021
Tony Masters Current term
Jan 2018 – Dec 2019
Lizzie Miller Current term
Dec 2018 – May 2020
External members

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.

Member Term of office

Dianne Leeson

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021

Previous term
Mar 2016 – May 2017

Terry Williamson Current term
May 2018 – May 2020

Other members determined by the chair:

Stephen Phillips
Vice-Principal (Operations)
Greg Robinson
Director, CIS
Wayne Andrews
Chief Financial Officer
David Pacey
Secretary to Senate


Alyssa White

Manager Governance (Senate & Academic Board)
  • Level 5 Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Administration Building F23