Skip to main content

Strategy and Risk Committee

Overseeing the University's strategic direction
The Strategy and Risk Committee oversees the University's strategic direction, risk, and major projects, including those related to information technologies and digital transformation.

The role of the Strategy and Risk Committee is to monitor and advise Senate on:

  • the University’s Major Projects, including those related to administration, services, resources, governance, education and research
  • performance against the 2016-2020 Strategic Plan
  • matters with specific regard to the University’s strategic IT projects
  • strategies developed by the University in education and research, and on the University’s performance against those strategies
  • matters with specific regard to environmental risk
  • matters with specific regard to the University’s strategic commercial activities
  • the annual report on legislative compliance and legal proceedings from General Counsel
  • thematic strategic risks emerging from internal audit investigations
  • non-financial risks generally within the University unless they are dealt with by another committee of the Senate.

Full terms of reference (pdf, 220KB)

Agendas and papers are distributed to committee members by the University Secretariat. Agenda items can be be submitted via the Senate submission template (doc, 85KB).

Agenda deadline Meeting date Meeting time

Monday 19 August

Wednesday 28 August

Thursday 19 September

Tuesday 1 October


Wednesday 6 November

Friday 15 November

Chair and ex-officio members

Chair is appointed by Senate from the Fellows of Senate (not a staff or student Fellow).

Member Term of office
Richard Freudenstein
Deputy Chancellor
Current term as Deputy Chancellor
Dec 2017 – Mar 2020

Current term as Chair
Jan 2018 – May 2020

Belinda Hutchinson AM
ex-officio member

Current term as Chancellor
Feb 2017 – Feb 2021

Previous term as Chancellor
Feb 2013 – Feb 2017

Dr Michael Spence AC
ex-officio member

Current term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2013 – Dec 2022

Previous term as Vice-Chancellor
Jul 2008 – Jun 2013
Fellows of Senate

Three Fellows of Senate are appointed by Senate after consultation by the chair of the committee with the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Member Term of office

Professor Stephen Simpson AC

Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021
Dr Lisa McIntyre Current term
Jun 2019 – May 2021
Francis Tamer Current term
Dec 2018 – May 2019
External members

A minimum of two and up to three external members with appropriate professional expertise and experience appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the chair of the committee.

Member Term of office

Tom Dery AO

Current term
Jan 2018 – May 2020
Dr Thomas Barlow Current term
Jan 2018 – May 2020
Additional members

Senate may, on the advice of the committee, or on its own volition, co-opt additional members as required.

Member Term of office
Jason Yat-sen Li Current term
Jan 2018 – May 2020

Other members determined by the chair:

Professor Barbara Messerle
Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor 
Rebecca Murray
Vice-Principal (Strategy)
Professor Phillipa Pattison AO
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Nisha Graham
Chief Risk Officer
Professor Duncan Ivison
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Professor Stephen Garton 
Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Stephen Phillips
Vice-Principal (Operations)
Professor Stephen Simpson
Academic Director, Charkes Perkins Centre


Alexandra Breitsameter

Committee Officer
  • Level 5 Corner of Eastern Avenue and City Road Administration Building F23