Skip to main content
University_

Ally Network

Supporting our LGBTIQ community

We established an Ally Network to support the inclusion of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) members of our community, and show our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive environment.

Our aim is for all members of our community to feel supported and free to contribute their best, regardless of gender or sexual orientation.

The Ally Network's position on marriage equality in Australia

The University of Sydney Ally Network wishes to express its strong support for marriage equality in Australia. The Network believes all consenting adults should have equal rights to participate in the institution of marriage if they so choose. The requirement that marriage be between a man and a woman does not reflect contemporary Australian values of respect, dignity and equality under the law, or the University’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. The current restrictions represent discrimination enshrined in law, which cannot be the basis of a free and equal society.

View the Ally Network’s position on marriage equality in detail.

The Ally Network recognises that it is a very difficult time for the LGBTIQ community, and the network encourages any staff or students in need of support to seek the many resources available. 

Now more than ever LGBTIQ people need allies. Find out more about becoming an ally

What the Ally Network does

Our network will:

  • help to create a welcoming, safe and supportive environment for everyone who identifies as LGBTIQ
  • promote cultural change and support our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive community by raising LGBTIQ awareness
  • challenge homophobia and homophobic attitudes and behaviours
  • give LGBTIQ staff and students a voice by providing a channel to raise concerns and issues to the University leadership
  • celebrate important LGBTIQ calendar events throughout the year.

The Ally Network meets regularly throughout the year. If you are interested in getting involved, attending meetings and/or social events, join the Ally Network mailing list by sending a blank email to ally.network@mailman.sydney.edu.au with ‘subscribe’ in the subject line.


Become an ally

An ally is anyone, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity, who supports LGBTIQ inclusion. The role of an ally is to be aware of the challenges faced by LGBTIQ people and to make a difference in whatever way they feel comfortable. This can include being a point of contact or standing against inequality or exclusion. An ally is also an agent of change who challenges homophobia and heterosexism.

Our allies complete professional development training to allow them to act as an effective supporter, role model and advocate. If you are interested in becoming an ally you will need to complete the required training which includes a Sexual and Gender Diversity Training session and an Ally Training session. To become an ally you will need to:

  1. create a CareerPath log-in (students only, staff use your unikey login)
  2. register for the training in CareerPath; and 
  3. sign the Ally Pledge form.

Once these steps have been made, your contact details will be listed on the page below. You will also be given a lapel pin, and an ally sticker to display at your workspace signalling that you are an ally. If you have any questions contact ally.network@sydney.edu.au.

The role of an Ally

  • allies are staff and students
  • provide a safe and confidential environment for people to make enquiries regarding issues related to matters of sexual diversity and gender identity
  • show leadership through being publicly supportive of sexual diversity.
  • allies display a sticker at their workstation or office door and identify themselves as Allies
  • increase respect and inclusion of LGBTIQ staff and students and role model non discriminatory practices and language
  • pro-actively combat, wherever possible, homophobia and heterosexism on campus
  • provide information and are able to appropriately refer.

Allies are not experts in LGBTIQ issues and may or may not be from the LGBTIQ community.

Ally Network Contacts

Murray Baker
Senior Student Administration Officer
murray.baker1@sydney.edu.au
1800 793 864

Huw Griffiths
Senior Lecturer, Department of English
huw.griffiths@sydney.edu.au
9351 2065

Annamarie Jagose
Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
annamarie.jagose@sydney.edu.au
9351 8034

Adam Kamradt-Scott
Associate Professor, Centre for International Security Studies
adam.kamradt-scott@sydney.edu.au
9351 8986

Kim Kemmis
Teaching Support Officer, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
kim.kemmis@sydney.edu.au

9351 4021

Olivia Murphy
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of English
olivia.murphy@sydney.edu.au
9351 2130

Jennifer Peden
Teaching & Curriculum Coordinator, School of Economics
jennifer.peden@sydney.edu.au
9351 4399

Michael Narciso
Program Support Manager
michael.narciso@sydney.edu.au
9351 7046   

Matthew Egan
Senior Lecturer
matthew.egan@sydney.edu.au
9036 9060

Andre Pinto
Administrative Officer, Business School Research Unit
andre.pinto@sydney.edu.au
9036 5372

Lexi Brent
Casual Teaching & Research Assistant, School of Information Technology
lexi.brent@sydney.edu.au

Lyndal Parker
Sessional Academic
lyndal.parker@sydney.edu.au

Olya Ryjenko
Senior Research and Technology Officer, Australian Stuttering Research Centre
olya.ryjenko@sydney.edu.au
9351 9766

Paul McInerney
Senior Systems Manager, School of Medical Sciences
paul@sydney.edu.au
9351 5159

Cassie Quilty
Student Support Programs
9351 0523

Christie Adamson
Manager (Education Support)
9351 0552

Reza Kahlaee
Research Fellow
reza.kahlaee@sydney.edu.au
9351 5097

Duncan Pickup
Curriculum and Teaching Support Advisor Administration
9114 0899

Matthew Pye
Associate Lecturer, School of Life and Environmental Science
matthew.pye@sydney.edu.au
9114 0797

Ivan Kassal
Senior Lecturer and Westpac Research Fellow, School of Chemistry
ivan.kassal@sydney.edu.au
8627 5883

Rebecca Pinkus
Lecturer, School of Psychology
rebecca.pinkus@sydney.edu.au
8627 4641

Andrew Doherty
Professor, School of Physics
andrew.doherty@sydney.edu.au
9351 7645

Dr Anne Fawcett
Lecturer, School of Veterinary Science
anne.fawcett@sydney.edu.au
 

Holly Eades
Site Services Advisor, Conservatorium Library
holly.eades@sydney.edu.au
9351 1474

Antonia Mocatta
Associate Director, Quality Innovation and Planning
antonia.mocatta@sydney.edu.au
8627 5664

Pedro T. Teixeira
Research Manager
pedro@sydney.edu.au
9351 2438

Terence Ryan
Administration Officer
terence.ryan@sydney.edu.au
9351 1506

Katy Cuthbert
Deputy Director
katy.cuthbert@sydney.edu.au
9950 9800

Jane Radford
Laboratory Technical Services Manager
jane.radford@sydney.edu.au
9351 7026

Mark Smith
Executive Officer of Sydney Senate University Secretariat
mark.j.smith@sydney.edu.au
9351 4260

Penelope Pitcairn
Staff Accessibility Manager, Talent, Organisational Development & Diversity
penelope.pitcairn@sydney.edu.au
9036 4715

Louise Bannerman
Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Talent, Organisation Development & Diversity
louise.bannerman@sydney.edu.au
9036 4758

Noah Stewart
Student Recruitment Manager, Global Student Recruitment & Mobility
noah.stewart@sydney.edu.au
8627 8324

Lauren Tropeano
Exchange Advisor, Global Student Recruitment & Mobility
lauren.tropeano@sydney.edu.au

Jessie Czaban
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student Engagement Officer
jessie.czaban@sydney.edu.au
8627 5260 

Note on terminology

At the University of Sydney, ‘LGBTIQ’ is used as an inclusive umbrella term that recognises the diversity and experiences of sexualities and genders. We acknowledge that this terminology is a source of ongoing community debate and may not reflect the preferred identification of individuals.