Skip to main content
University_

Ally Network

Supporting our LGBTIQ community

We established an Ally Network to support the inclusion of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (LGBTIQ) members of our community, and show our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive environment.

Our aim is for all members of our community to feel supported and free to contribute their best, regardless of gender or sexual orientation.

What the Ally Network does

Our network will:

  • help to create a welcoming, safe and supportive environment for everyone who identifies as LGBTIQ
  • promote cultural change and support our commitment to creating a stronger and more inclusive community by raising LGBTIQ awareness
  • challenge homophobia and homophobic attitudes and behaviours
  • give LGBTIQ staff and students a voice by providing a channel to raise concerns and issues to the University leadership
  • celebrate important LGBTIQ calendar events throughout the year.

Become an ally

An ally is anyone, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity, who supports LGBTIQ inclusion. The role of an ally is to be aware of the challenges faced by LGBTIQ people and to make a difference in whatever way they feel comfortable. This can include being a point of contact or standing against inequality or exclusion. An ally is also an agent of change who challenges homophobia and heterosexism.

If you are interested in becoming an ally you will need to complete Sexual, Gender Diversity and Ally Training, this is a 2 hour face-to-face session at the Camperdown Campus.

  1. Enrol for a session on CareerPath but note if you are a student you will need to create a self-registration login first by visiting this link.
  2. After you have completed the training, sign the Ally Pledge (provided to you at the end of the training session) and scan and return it to ally.network@sydney.edu.au.

Once these steps have been made, your contact details will be listed on the page below. You will also be given a lapel pin, and an ally sticker to display at your workspace signalling that you are an ally. 

The role of an Ally

  • allies are staff and students
  • provide a safe and confidential environment for people to make enquiries regarding issues related to matters of sexual diversity and gender identity
  • attend training, formally sign a pledge of support and treat all conversations and approaches as strictly confidential
  • show leadership through being publicly supportive of sexual diversity
  • display a sticker at their workstation or office door and identify themselves as Allies
  • increase respect and inclusion of LGBTIQ staff and students and role model non-discriminatory practices and language
  • pro-actively combat, wherever possible, homophobia and heterosexism on campus
  • provide information and are able to appropriately refer.

Allies are not experts in LGBTIQ issues and may or may not be from the LGBTIQ community.

Ally Network Contacts

Alexander Khateeb
Student
mkha5255@uni.sydney.edu.au

Inez Cloughton
Student, Social Work
inezcloughton@gmail.com
0434 520 702

Caitlyn Kendal
Student
cken4919@uni.sydney.edu.au
0425 814 857

Jaki King
College Life Project Officer, St Andrew's College
collegelife@standrewscollege.edu.au
02 9565 7329

Natalie Smith
Dean, The Women's College
nsmith@thewomenscollege.com.au
02 9517 5028

Katy Cuthbert
Deputy Director, International House
katy.cuthbert@sydney.edu.au
02 9950 9800

Noah Stewart
Student Recruitment Manager, Global Student Recruitment & Mobility
noah.stewart@sydney.edu.au
02 8627 8324

Lauren Tropeano
Exchange Advisor, Global Student Recruitment & Mobility
lauren.tropeano@sydney.edu.au

Jessie Czaban
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student Engagement Officer
jessie.czaban@sydney.edu.au
02 8627 5260 

Anna Gurevich
Career Development Officer
anna.gurevich@sydney.edu.au
02 8627 6502

Dimity Hyde
Exchange Coordinator, Sydney Abroad
dimity.hyde@sydney.edu.au

Jasmine Chhabra
Study Abroad Coordinator, Sydney Global Mobility
jasmine.chhabra@sydney.edu.au

Priya Sivaraj
Exchange Officer, Sydney Global Mobility
priya.sivaraj@sydney.edu.au

Murray Baker
Senior Student Administration Officer
murray.baker1@sydney.edu.au
1800 793 864

Huw Griffiths
Senior Lecturer, Department of English
huw.griffiths@sydney.edu.au
9351 2065

Annamarie Jagose
Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
annamarie.jagose@sydney.edu.au
9351 8034

Adam Kamradt-Scott
Associate Professor, Centre for International Security Studies
adam.kamradt-scott@sydney.edu.au
9351 8986

Kim Kemmis
Teaching Support Officer, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
kim.kemmis@sydney.edu.au

9351 4021

Olivia Murphy
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of English
olivia.murphy@sydney.edu.au
9351 2130

Jennifer Peden
Teaching & Curriculum Coordinator, School of Economics
jennifer.peden@sydney.edu.au
9351 4399

Michael Narciso
Program Support Manager
michael.narciso@sydney.edu.au
9351 7046   

Matthew Egan
Senior Lecturer
matthew.egan@sydney.edu.au
9036 9060

Andre Pinto
Administrative Officer, Business School Research Unit
andre.pinto@sydney.edu.au
9036 5372

Wes Hamilton-Jessop
Associate Lecturer
wes.hamilton-jessop@sydney.edu.au
02 9114 0757

Sophia Davidson Gluyas
Coordinator HDR Training
sophia.davidsongluyas@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 3086

Lexi Brent
Casual Teaching & Research Assistant, School of Information Technology
lexi.brent@sydney.edu.au

Lyndal Parker
Sessional Academic
lyndal.parker@sydney.edu.au

Olya Ryjenko
Senior Research and Technology Officer, Australian Stuttering Research Centre
olya.ryjenko@sydney.edu.au
9351 9766

Paul McInerney
Senior Systems Manager, School of Medical Sciences
paul@sydney.edu.au
9351 5159

Cassie Quilty
Student Support Programs
9351 0523

Christie Adamson
Manager (Education Support)
9351 0552

Reza Kahlaee
Research Fellow
reza.kahlaee@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 5097

Duncan Pickup
Curriculum and Teaching Support Advisor Administration
02 9114 0899

Matthew Pye
Associate Lecturer, School of Life and Environmental Science
matthew.pye@sydney.edu.au
02 9114 0797

Ivan Kassal
Senior Lecturer and Westpac Research Fellow, School of Chemistry
ivan.kassal@sydney.edu.au
8627 5883

Rebecca Pinkus
Lecturer, School of Psychology
rebecca.pinkus@sydney.edu.au
8627 4641

Andrew Doherty
Professor, School of Physics
andrew.doherty@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 7645

Dr Anne Fawcett
Lecturer, School of Veterinary Science
anne.fawcett@sydney.edu.au
 

Holly Eades
Site Services Advisor, Conservatorium Library
holly.eades@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 1474

Antonia Mocatta
Associate Director, Quality Innovation and Planning
antonia.mocatta@sydney.edu.au
02 8627 5664

Pedro T. Teixeira
Research Manager
pedro@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 2438

Terence Ryan
Administration Officer
terence.ryan@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 1506

Jane Radford
Laboratory Technical Services Manager
jane.radford@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 7026

Mark Smith
Executive Officer of Sydney Senate University Secretariat
mark.j.smith@sydney.edu.au
02 9351 4260

Penelope Pitcairn
Staff Accessibility Manager, Talent, Organisational Development & Diversity
penelope.pitcairn@sydney.edu.au
02 9036 4715

Louise Bannerman
Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Talent, Organisation Development & Diversity
louise.bannerman@sydney.edu.au
02 9036 4758

Sarah Liebetau
Senior Staff Communications Specialist
sarah.liebetrau@sydney.edu.au
 

Tarryn Hill-Cawthorne
Strategy Analyst
tarryn.hill-cawthorne@sydney.edu.au
02 9114 0618

Oscar Monaghan
Postgraduate Fellow
oscar.monaghan@sydney.edu.au
02 8627 5918

Note on terminology

At the University of Sydney, ‘LGBTIQ’ is used as an inclusive umbrella term that recognises the diversity and experiences of sexualities and genders. We acknowledge that this terminology is a source of ongoing community debate and may not reflect the preferred identification of individuals.