Skip to main content

Graduate Medal recipients

Meet our outstanding young alumni
The Graduate Medals recognise the work of our most recent graduates, who, despite just starting their careers, have already begun to make an impact.
Emilia Jayne Milliner

The Convocation Medal for undergraduate leadership

Emelia Jayne Milliner (BCom BE(Hons) '19)

As co-president of the University’s Engineers Without Borders chapter, Emelia helped expand the organisation by changing perceptions of engineering and encouraging women to study what has historically been a male-dominated degree. Emelia also achieved outstanding academic results throughout her degree, and was named NSW Humanitarian Engineer of the Year in 2017.

"Future problems require diverse solutions from diverse voices."

The Edmund Barton Medal for postgraduate leadership

Hannah Maree Rayner (MD '18)

After building a career as a pharmacist, Hannah completed a Doctor of Medicine in 2018, and now plans to pursue a career in paediatrics in a rural area to address the growing doctor shortage. During her time at Uni, she held leaderships roles in the Australian Medical Students’ Association, the Sydney University Paediatric Society, and both the Med Revue and the Sydney Uni Revue.

"Surround yourself with people who love you, work hard and do your best."

Nathan Schrieber

The Sister Alison Bush Medal for contribution to Indigenous community

Nathan Schrieber (MIndigLangEd '18)

After investigating the history of his community’s language, Gunggay, Nathan became committed to reintroducing the language back into the daily lives of his community. He studied a Master of Indigenous Languages in order to fully understand the structure of Gunggay, and now teaches the language to primary and secondary students in his hometown of Yarrabah.

"Education is more than power. It’s actually freedom."

Moritz Merklein

The Rita and John Cornforth Medal for research excellence

Moritz Merklein (PhD '18)

Moritz has made significant contributions to the field of optical science, having been awarded the Jak Kelly Prize for excellence in postgraduate research by the Royal Society of NSW in 2017, and had his work published in the prestigious journal Nature Communications. His work has also been featured by news outlets worldwide, including the BBC.

"Don’t give up. If you have a good idea and you believe in it, work hard and it will work out in the end."

Sally Kim

The John C Harsanyi Medal for innovation

Sally Kim (BPharm '10 MPh(Research) '15 PhD '18)

Sally was responsible for developing an award-winning aerosol technology to deliver stem cells directly to lungs. Having completed a Bachelor of Pharmacy, a Master of Philosophy (Pharmacy) and a Doctorate of Philosophy (Pharmacy), Sally’s ground-breaking achievements have been recognised by numerous awards, including the European Respiratory Society Fellowship.

"Have faith, and extend yourself beyond what you think you can initially achieve."

Tom Robertson

The Nigel C Barker Medal for sporting achievement

Tom Robertson (BMedSc '16 MPHlth '19)

Tom graduated with a Bachelor of Medical Science in 2015, and completed a Master of Public Health last year. Whilst achieving outstanding grades in medical science medicine, Tom has been heavily involved in Australian Rugby, representing the NSW Waratahs on 43 occasions, the Australian Wallabies on 23 occasions, and achieving the Chris Whitaker Award for Aspiring Waratahs in his debut year.

"Enjoy what you study, it makes it a lot easier."