Skip to main content
Students on the Abercrombie Building staircase
Faculties and schools_

Our people

Transforming the educational experience
Since being established in 1920 our school has grown to include approximately 500 staff made up of teaching, research and professional roles.

Faculty leadership

Our leadership team encompasses representatives from all areas of business, working collaboratively to improve and enhance the faculty’s teaching and research.

Greg Whitwell

Professor Gregory Whitwell

Elizabeth Cowley

Deputy Dean
Professor Elizabeth Cowley

Ann Davis

Associate Dean (Academic Resourcing and Development)
Professor Ann Davis

Peter Bryant

Associate Dean (Education)
Associate Professor Peter Bryant

Rae Cooper

Associate Dean (Programs)
Professor Rae Cooper

Susan Thorp

Associate Dean (Research) and Associate Dean (Research Education)
Professor Susan Thorp

Juliette Overland

Associate Dean (Student Life) and Associate Dean (Indigenous Strategy & Services)
Associate Professor Juliette Overland

Elaine McFadzean

Faculty General Manager
Elaine McFadzean

Board of Advice

Martin Blake

Martin Blake (Chair)
Partner, KPMG

Martin is KPMG's Lead Partner for NSW Government. From 2005 –2011 Martin was the Head of Business Development for the Advisory Division and the Head of the Financial Services Advisory practice in Australia. Martin has played a key role in building KPMG’s Advisory business which now represents over 50% of the firm’s business in Australia. Martin has over fifteen years’ experience in managing large transformation programs and developing business strategies for insurance companies & wealth managers in Australia and Asia.

Jim Betts

Jim Betts
Secretary, Department of Planning and Industry

Jim Betts is the Secretary of the Department of Planning and Industry, which holds key responsibilities within the New South Wales Government for long-term planning, infrastructure priorities, natural resources, the environment, energy and growing the State’s industries. His previous roles include six years as the Chief Executive Officer at Infrastructure NSW and five years as Secretary of the Victorian Department of Transport.

Jo Burston

Jo Burston
CEO and Founder, Rare Birds

Jo Burston has been recognised as one of Australia’s top 50 entrepreneurs for the past five years. She is the founder and CEO of Job Capital as well as Rare Birds, which seeks to promote women in entrepreneurship and has a global vision to inspire 1 million women to join its community by 2020.

Andrea Myles

Andrea Myles
CEO, China Australia Millennial Project

Andrea Myles has lived for extensive periods in China, becoming an expert in Chinese business and culture. She runs an award winning multimillion-dollar start-up that connects talent, innovation and capital in both nations. Andrea has been named one of Australia's 100 Women of Influence for her work with China.

Jan Pacas

Jan Pacas
CEO and MD, Hilti Australia

Since joining Hilti Australia in 2009 Jan Pacas’ global and leadership expertise has played an integral part in Hilti’s domestic success. Prior to his arrival Jan held the position of Chief Marketing Officer Global Business Unit Power Tools, working on projects in the United States, Europe, Hong Kong and China.

Tim Soutphommasane

Tim Soutphommasane
Former Race Discrimination Commissioner

Dr Tim Soutphommasane has just finished a five-year term as Race Discrimination Commissioner with the Australian Human Rights Commission. He is a political philosopher, having held posts at the University of Sydney and Monash University, and he is an influential thinker on multiculturalism and national identity.

Arlene Tansey

Arlene Tansey
Chairman, Non-Executive Director

Arlene Tansey is Chairman of Ltd and Future Fibre Technologies and a Director of Adelaide Brighton, Primary Health Care, Infrastructure NSW, Lend Lease Investment. She serves on the advisory board of Serco Asia-Pacific. She has also worked in banking and law in Australia and the US. 

Suzanne Young

Suzanne Young
EGM Business Partnering, IAG

Prior to joining IAG in March 2016, Suzanne Young held senior executive and non-executive director roles in a range of industries. She has broad leadership and operational experience in financial services, aviation, technology, not-for-profit, sport and professional services in Australia, NZ, Asia, Europe and the US.

Karina Kwan

Karina Kwan
Non-Executive Director

Karina is a non-executive director with experience on boards in financial services, regulatory technology and disability NFP sectors. She spent 30 years in banking as a treasurer, financial controller and CFO. She is an Adjunct Professor of the Discipline of Finance, within the Business School .

Andrew Petersen

Andrew Petersen
CEO, Sustainable Business Australia

As CEO of Sustainable Business Australia Andrew Petersen was legal adviser on matters relating to environmental risk, law and policy, including climate change. A practising lawyer, he was also the Legal and Advisory Lead of PwC Australia's sustainability and climate change team, 2007-10.