Skip to main content

Theme leaders

Meet our research theme leaders

Our theme leaders encourage shared research, facilitate unusual collaborations and promote common research goals. Learn more about our team.

Dr Josephine Gwynn (acting)

Dr Josephine Gwynn is an early career researcher, and has consistently been successful in receiving research funding over her research career, including while undertaking her PhD. She has mentored a number of Aboriginal project officers to complete their diplomas and degrees as well as attain leadership positions in their communities and in both state and national arenas.

Jean Yang

Professor Jean Yang

Jean Yang is an applied statistician with expertise in statistical bioinformatics. She was awarded the 2015 Moran Medal in statistics from the Australian Academy of Science in recognition of her work on developing methods for molecular data arising in cutting edge biomedical research.

Recently, much of Professor Yang's focus is on integration of multiple biotechnologies with clinical data to answer a variety of scientific questions. This includes developiong various approches and methodolgies in statistical machine learning and network analysis. 

Professor David Raubenheimer

David Raubenheimer joined the University in April 2013 as the Leonard P Ullmann Chair in Nutritional Ecology. He is a leading expert in nutritional ecology: the discipline that studies how nutrition-related aspects of an animal’s environment interact with its biology to determine health and fitness. His studies of insects, fish, birds and a variety of mammals have helped develop a new approach to human nutrition-related problems, such as the dietary causes of obesity.

Professor Emmanuel Stamatakis

Emmanuel Stamatakis joined CPC at inception in 2014 and is currently an NHMRC Senior Research Fellow. He is an internationally recognised leader in the area of the health effects of physical activity, exercise, and sedentary behaviour. He leads the Prospective Physical Activity, Sitting and Sleep (ProPASS) consortium of cohort studies that use accelerometry to quantify the links of movement behaviour and health. His recent published work has received numerous awards and significant media attention. He is currently one of the four Editors of the British Journal of Sports Medicine and the Editor-in-Chief of BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine.

Professor Warwick Anderson

Warwick Anderson is Professor of History. He was ARC Laureate Fellow in the Department of History and the Center for Values, Ethics and the Law in Medicine between 2012 and 2017. Professor Anderson also has an affiliation with the Unit for History and Philosophy of Science at Sydney and is a Professorial Fellow of the School of Population Health at the University of Melbourne. In 2018-2019, he will be the Gough Whitlam and Malcolm Fraser Chair of Australian Studies at Harvard University.

Professor Peter Cistulli

Peter Cistulli is the ResMed Chair in Sleep Medicine. He is leading the University's research, clinical, and educational activities in advancing the field of sleep-disordered breathing and its impact on chronic disease management. Chronic diseases, such as chronic lung disease, heart disease, stroke and diabetes, are the leading causes of mortality in the world. There is growing evidence that sleep-disordered breathing and other disruptors of sleep play an exacerbating role in many of these chronic disorders, and that intervention improves outcomes.

Professor Cistulli has been an active researcher clinician in respiratory and sleep medicine for 25 years, and has worked at the University as Professor of Respiratory Medicine for the last 10 years. He heads the Centre for Sleep Health and Research at Sydney's Royal North Shore Hospital.

Professor Philip de Chazal

Philip de Chazal is the ResMed Chair in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Sydney. He is also the Sleep theme leader. Professor de Chazal leads the University's research and educational activities in biomedical engineering, working across the Charles Perkins Centre and the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies.