Skip to main content

Join the Academy

Get involved
Become part of the growing network of schools that make our STEM community.

How to join our community

Schools interested in joining either our high school or primary school program will need to complete the following steps:

Email indicating your interest in joining a program


 Information will then be provided about upcoming programs with an invitation to:

  • Attend an information session
  • Complete an expression of interest form which requires developing a school team and program leader. High schools typically send 6 teachers (2 each of science, mathematics, and technology) which primary schools typically send 3-4 teachers

Participating schools

The STEM Academy program operates all over metropolitan and regional NSW.

See all participating schools (pdf, 65KB)

Current participants

Anson Street Public School
Borenore Public School
Catherine McAuley Catholic Public School
Eglinton Public School
Glenroi Heights Public School
Kinross Wolaroi
Molong Central School
Mullion Creek Public School
Nashdale Public School
Orange Anglican Grammar School
Orange Christian School
Spring Hill Public School
St Joseph’s Catholic Primary Public School Blayney
St Raphael’s Catholic Public School Cowra

Annandale Public School
Beauty Point Public School
Castle Hill Public School
Darlinghurst Public School
Hebersham Public School
Mortlake Public School
Northmead Public School
Nuwarra Public School
Penshurst Public School
Rydalmere East Public School
Sacred Heart Catholic Pymble
St Luke’s Marsden Park
St Mary’s Catholic Public School Manly
St George Christian School
Thomas Hassall Anglican College
West Ryde Public School

Avondale School
Dungog High School
Henry Kendall High School
Macquarie College Newcastle
San Clemente High School
St Bede’s Catholic College
St Catherine’s Catholic College
St Joseph’s Catholic College East Gosford
St Mary’s Catholic College Gateshead
Tomaree High School

Covenant Christian School
Greystanes High School
Hunters Hill High School
John Edmondson High School
Kingsgrove North High School
Kogarah High School
Mosman High School
St John Paul II Catholic College
St Patrick’s College Campbelltown
St Paul’s Catholic College Manly
Strathfield Girls’ High School
The Illawarra Grammar School
Wiley Park Girls’ High School

Armidale High School
Gunnedah High School
Guyra Central School
McCarthy Catholic College
Oxley High School
PLC Armidale
The Armidale School
Warialda High School

Frequently asked questions

Participation in the STEM Academy is through a partnership between the school and the University and not with individual teachers.

If you are interested in the program, please speak to your school Principal and ask them to consider becoming a partner school.

We encourage teachers and school leaders to contact us if they are interested in joining the program. We will invite you to complete an Expression of Interest (EOI) when we are recruiting the next group of schools in your area.

The program leaders review submitted EOIs and select the partner schools based on how they meet the selection criteria. It is important that the EOI demonstrates the school’s commitment to support its teachers through the completion of the program and onwards.

For the primary schools program, a partner school will be required to send a team of three to four teachers to attend a total of five days of professional learning sessions delivered within a calendar year.

Partner schools participating in the secondary schools program are required to send a team of six teachers - two each from the science, mathematics and TAS departments of their school. The whole team must attend the first, three-day and the follow-up two-day professional learning sessions.

The STEM Academy will cover teacher relief if participating teachers attend all five days of the program.

Your school leader will be provided with information about the program and will be encouraged to hold a team planning meeting before the first face-to-face meeting. The will also be invited to attend a preliminary leadership meeting before the first session.

The secondary program held at the University of Sydney in November each year is a residential and requires teachers to stay on campus.

Yes, but only if teachers attend all five days of the program.