Skip to main content
Faculties and schools_

Meet our school staff

Interdisciplinary and internationally collaborative

Australia’s first home for computer science, the School of Information Technologies is driven by research-led teaching and vibrant scholarship across a broad range of disciplines relating to applied technology.

Key leadership

Professor Athman Bouguettaya, Head of School

Associate Professor Joachim Gudmundsson, Deputy Head of School (Research)

Associate Professor Masahiro Takatsuka, Deputy Head of School (Education)

Ms Shari Lee, School Manager


Associate Professor Jinman Kim, Research Training Director

Associate Professor Bing Zhou, Undergraduate Programs Director

Associate Professor Simon Poon, Master of Health Technology Innovation Program Director

Associate Professor Uwe Roehm, Master of Data Science Program Director

Associate Professor Zhiyong Wang, Master of IT Program Director

Dr Kevin Kuan, Master of IT Management and MIT/MITM Program Director


Professor Joseph Davis, Information systems and services

Professor Alan Fekete, Enterprise software systems

Professor David Feng, Biomedical and multimedia information technology

Professor Seokhee Hong, Information visualisation and visual analytics

Professor Judy Kay, Human-centred technology (HCT)

Professor Dacheng Tao, Computer science

Professor Albert Zomaya, High-performance computing and networking

Associate Professor Weidong Cai, Visual media processing and retrieval

Associate Professor James Curran, Computational linguistics

Associate Professor Joachim Gudmundsson, Computational geometry

Associate Professor Jinman Kim, Biomedical and multimedia information technology

Associate Professor Irena Koprinska, Data mining and medical informatics

Associate Professor Simon Poon, Health technology innovation

Associate Professor Fabio Ramos, Machine learning and robotics

Associate Professor Uwe Roehm, Database management systems and data processing

Associate Professor Bernhard Scholz, Programming languages and paradigms

Associate Professor Masahiro Takatsuka, Visual analytics

Associate Professor Xiu Wang, Panoromic data analysis and fusion

Associate Professor Zhiyong Wang, Multimedia computing

Associate Professor Kalina Yacef, Computer human-adapted interaction (CHAI)

Associate Professor Bing Zhou, Computing applications

Professional staff

Ms Julia Ashworth, Enquiries Officer

Ms Josephine Spongberg, Project Officer

Ms Cecile Faraizi, Postgraduate Administrative Officer (Information Technology-related programs)

Ms Keiko Narushima, Postgraduate Administrative Officer (Master of Data Science and Master of Health Technology Innovation programs)

Ms Evelyn Riegler, Postgraduate Administration Officer (Research and Research Training)

Mr John Warren, External Relations Manager

Ms Katie Yang, Administration Officer (Undergraduate and Industry Links)

Mr Greg Ryan, Manager, Technical and Infrastructure Services