Skip to main content

Electrical and Information Engineering Foundation

Linking world-class education and research with industry

The Electrical and Information Engineering Foundation works with industry to support our ongoing education and research excellence in the diverse fields encompassing electrical and software engineering.

Our members


  • Mr George Maltabarow, Chairman of the Australian Energy Research Institute; Advisor, Landis + Gyr 

Deputy President

  • Dr Peter Tyree, AW Tyree Foundation


  • Mr John Gaskell, former Managing Director, ABB Australia

Director (Ex-officio)

  • Professor Archie Johnston, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Ms Melissa Bonevska, Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor Nominee, The University of Sydney 
  • Mr Russell Ash, General Manager/Director, UGL Limited
  • Mr Trevor Ashton, Managing Director, Gynco
  • Mr Jason Dong, General Manager and Business Development Manager, WesTrac China
  • Mr Grant Dyer, Smart Energy Lead, IBM Australia and New Zealand
  • Mr Jeffery Ferdinands, Country Head ANZ, Tech Mahindra
  • Mr Geoff Lilliss, former Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Ampcontrol
  • Mr Brian Wright, Director, Jubatus Consulting
  • Professor Jianguo Zhu, Head of School of Electrical and Information Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • ABB Australia Pty Ltd
  • AEMO
  • Ampcontrol
  • Ausgrid
  • EndeavourEnergy
  • Evans & Peck Group
  • Fujitsu Australia
  • Freelancer Australia
  • Garde Services Pty Ltd
  • GHD
  • IBM Australia Limited
  • Jubatus Pty Ltd
  • Landis + Gyr
  • Leighton Contractors Pty Limited
  • Lend Lease Services
  • NHP Electrical Engineering Products
  • Olex Australia Pty Ltd
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Sydney Trains (formerly RailCorp NSW
  • Schneider Electric
  • Siemens Ltd
  • Jacobs (formerly Sinclair Knight Merz)
  • SingTel Optus Pty Ltd
  • Sumitomo Australia Ltd
  • Taihan Electric Australia
  • Telstra Corporation Ltd
  • Thiess Pty Ltd
  • Thiess Services Pty Ltd
  • Tyree Holdings
  • United Group Infrastructure Services
  • School of Electrical and Information Engineering academics
  • Professor Alex Baitch, Principal, BES Australia
  • Dr Trevor Bird, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Mr Steve Finlay, Engineers Australia, Sydney Division
  • Dr David Tien, Committee, IEEE NSW Section
  • Mr Allan Gillespie, Honorary Fellow, University of Sydney
  • Professor Mike Dureau AM,Executive Director, The Warren Centre
  • Dr Ashok Manglick, Group Manager Strategic Projects, TransGrid
  • Mr Keiran Passmore, Group Manager, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies
  • Mr David Stuart-Smith, Australasia Leader for Rail Engineering, Arup
  • Mr David Sweeting, Honourary Professor, University of Wollongong

Bulletin board

The School of Electrical and Information Engineering and EIE Foundation successfully held their annual dinner on August 31.

Guests from industry, as well as academics and alumni in attendance, were able to hear from notable speakers including Australian Laureate Fellow Professor Branka Vucetic; Mr Matt Barrie, Chief Executive and President of Freelancer; and Ms Jacqueline Madsen, recent electrical engineering graduate now working for BHP Billiton.

A photo gallery is available with many highlights from the event.