About us

The Law Extension Committee is appointed by the University Senate and comprises sixteen members and nominees proposed by the University including:

  • the Chancellor, Vice Chancellor and Deputy Chancellor as ex officio members
  • the Dean of the Law School and three other members nominated by the Faculty of Law
  • four nominees of Senate
  • a nominee of the Chief Justice of New South Wales
  • two members nominated by the NSW Bar Association and
  • two members nominated by the Law Society of NSW.

The Chairperson of the LEC is presently Acting Magistrate Daphne A Kok.

The LEC’s administration is located at Suite 10.02 Level 10 139-141 Macquarie Street, Sydney, while classes are conducted on the Camperdown Campus of the University.

The Legal Profession Admission Board

The Legal Profession Admission Board is a statutory corporation which administers various functions associated with the admission of lawyers in New South Wales. It has a close relationship with the Supreme Court. The Board is headed by the Chief Justice of NSW and his representatives most of whom are judges, lawyers, barristers and academics.

The Presiding Officer of the LPAB is presently Hon Justice A Emmett.

The LPAB’s administration is located in premises it owns in Level 4, 37 Bligh St, Sydney.