Continuing professional development for professionals

Continuing professional development for professionals

Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia (ICAA)
Members need to undertake a minimum of 120 hours of training and development over a three-year period (triennium). Of these, a maximum of 30 hours may comprise technical reading. Training and development is broadly defined as professional development. An activity of a technical nature that falls within the guidelines, and enhances or broadens professional knowledge, is deemed acceptable training and development activity.

Chartered Practising Accounts (CPA)
All CPA Australia members need to:

  • complete 120 CPD hours every three years (triennium)
  • complete at least 20 CPD hours each year
  • keep an up-to-date record of their activities.

Members can claim a range of different activities, including attending lectures, workshops or learning courses.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)
Under national law, which governs the operations of the national boards and AHPRA, all registered health practitioners need to undertake CPD. The CPD requirements of each national board are detailed in the registration standards for each profession, published on each board website. These detail the number of credits/points/hours practitioners need to accumulate each year on learning activities. Some health professions also provide additional guidance in their codes and guidelines.

Engineers Australia
Continuing professional development (CPD) is anything structured or unstructured that helps an individual expand their knowledge, maintain up-to-date technical skills and develop their engineering career. Participation in CPD activities can expand your professional networks and contacts. CPD is necessary to attain and maintain chartered status.

Please note: this information is intended as a guide only. Please check with the relevant organisation to confirm these details.