Sydney Law School Distinguished Speakers Program 2013

Judge Yvonne Murphy | Professor Harold Bruff | Zaki Tun Azmi | The Hon Kevin Lindgren AM QC | Professor Alec Stone Sweet | Professor Edward Rock | Professor Christopher B. Field

Registration will open approximately 6 weeks prior to each lecture, and prices are inclusive of a cocktail function.

$25 inc GST: full fee
$20 inc GST: Sydney Law School alumni
$10 inc GST: University of Sydney students

Unless otherwise advertised, doors will open at 5.30pm for 6-7pm lecture, followed by a cocktail reception until 8pm.

Lecture program

  Speaker Topic Date Registration
Judge Yvonne Murphy Child abuse and child sexual abuse: The Irish experience Mon
4 March
Prof Harold Bruff Professor Harold Bruff
Nicholas Rosenbaum Professor of Law
Constitutional and Administrative Law
University of Colorado Law School
The President and Congress: Separation of Powers in the United States of America Mon
15 April
Zaki Tun Azmi Zaki Tun Azmi Rule of Law and the Independence of the Judiciary in Malaysia: New Government, Old Government, does it really matter? Thu
9 May

The Hon. Kevin Lindgren AM QC
Former Justice of the Federal Court of Australia

 Rule of Law Thu 18 July Closed

Professor Alec Stone Sweet
Yale Law School

A Cosmopolitan Legal Order: Constitutional Pluralism and Rights Adjudication in Europe

Thu 29 August Closed
Professor Edward Rock

Professor Edward Rock
Saul A. Fox Distinguished Professor of Business Law
University of Pennsylvania Law School

Embattled CEOs

Thu 12 September Closed
Christopher Field Professor Christopher B. Field
The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford University
Climate Change: Managing the Risks of Extreme Events and Disasters Thu 5 December Closed