Skip to main content
abstract image of puzzle
Courses_

Pain management: putting cognitive behavioural therapy skills into practice

Help patients manage their pain
Register now for this online webinar training program designed to help you help your patients better manage their chronic or persistent pain problems with cognitive behavioural therapy techniques.

Course overview

This program consists of seven 90-minute webinar sessions, conducted over a 2-3 month timeframe. In each session, you will explore specific strategies on how to manage patients experiencing chronic pain effectively. 

Participants will receive a certificate of completion, recognising 28 hours of professional development if all attendance and homework requirements are met.

This program is run entirely online, making it accessible to all health professionals across both rural and suburban Australia and overseas.

Key information
Delivery mode: Online over seven sessions.
Price: Members of the public: $770 AUD (incl. GST)
Sydney Medical School Pain Management alumni: $700 AUD (incl. GST)
Registration: Register and pay online via credit card or
email paineducation.admin@sydney.edu.au to be invoiced.


Please note

  • Registrations close 5 business days before the first session of the series, to allow time for postage of materials.
  • Registrations may close earlier if the series is full.
  • No refunds will be provided once materials have been posted out.
  • A maximum of 10 participants can register for each series, and a minimum of 6 participants per series is required for the series to proceed.

Sessions outline

Session Topic
1 Patient assessment and case formulation
2 Explaining case formulation to the patient
3 Identifying SMART goals and using motivational interviewing
4 Employing self-management skills and developing a treatment plan
5 Reinforcing treatment program and maintenance strategies - part one
6 Reinforcing treatment program and maintenance strategies - part two
7 Integration of CBT skills

Upcoming dates

All four 2019 webinar series are now closed. We will advertise new dates for 2020 soon.

6:00 - 7.30pm AEST
Closed

Session Date
1 Thu 28 February
2 Thu 7 March
3 Thu 14 March
4 Thu 21 March
5 Thu 28 March
6 Thu 4 April
7 Thu 2 May

5.30 - 7.00pm AEST
Closed

Session Date
1 Tue 7 May
2 Tue 21 May
3 Tue 4 June
4 Tue 18 June
5 Tue 2 July
6 Tue 16 July
7 Tue 13 August

6.00 - 7.30pm AEST
Closed  

Session Date
1 Wed 17 July
2 Wed 24 July
3 Wed 31 July
4 Wed 7 August
5 Wed 14 August
6 Wed 21 August
7 Wed 18 September

7.00 - 8.30pm AEST
Closed 

Session Date
1 Thu 5 September
2 Thu 12 September
3 Thu 19 September
4 Thu 26 September
5 Thu 3 October
6 Thu 10 October
7 Thu 7 November

What's involved?

The webinar skills training consists of four basic steps: 

Preparation

  • Checking computer compatibility
  • Completing pre-reading

Participation

  • Logging on in time to participate
  • Interacting with the facilitator and other participants
  • Presenting and discussing homework experiences

Application

  • Incorporating the new skills in the management of chronic pain patients (e.g. case formulation, goal setting, activity pacing, thought management, applied relaxation)

Evidence

  • Preparing a written statement about skills practised between sessions
  • Reflecting on the experience & documenting insights gained, culminating in a case presentation in the final session to demonstrate competence

Homework tasks

You are expected to use the skills covered with your patients between sessions, culminating in a case presentation in the final session. These tasks are designed to give you an opportunity to practise and reflect on the skills you explored in each session.

Study materials

All participants receive:

  • a comprehensive manual covering the content of the program
  • a headset
  • advice on the technical aspects of the webinar sessions
  • relevant papers for background reading
  • a copy of our patient manual (Manage Your Pain by Nicholas et al.)

Follow-up email discussions with the facilitators, if necessary, are also available.