Shine Lab

Rick Shine - Awards, Honours and Prizes

Year Title
1970 Ramsay Prize for Best Undergraduate Degree in Biological Sciences, Australian National University, Canberra
1975 Award for Best Student Paper at the Annual Meeting of the Australian Society of Herpetologists, Olive Downs, NSW
1983-1985 National president, Australian Society of Herpetologists
1985 Whitley Award from Royal Zoological Society of NSW for Best Edited Symposium, given to "Biology of Australasian Frogs and Reptiles"
1988-2007 Research Associate of the Australian Museum
1988 Appointed as Research Associate of the Carnegie Museum of Natural History, USA
1988-1993 Member of Council, Royal Zoological Society of NSW
1989-1995 Served on NSW Government's Advisory Committee on Non-indigenous Animals
1989-1997 Member of International Herpetological Committee
1991 Appointed to IUCN/SSC Australasian Reptile and Amphibian Specialist Group
1991 Josef Laszlo Memorial Award for Outstanding Contribution to Herpetoculture, International Herpetological Symposium, Seattle (for "Outstanding Contribution to Herpetoculture")
1991-1994 National president, Australian Society of Herpetologists
1992-1997 Special Investigator Award, Australian Research Council
1992 Whitley Award from Royal Zoological Society of NSW for Best Zoological Handbook, given to "Australian Snakes. A Natural History"
1992 Acted as University of Göteborg's Opponent at thesis defence of graduate student (Mats Olsson), Sweden
1992 Acted as University of Uppsala's Opponent at thesis defence of graduate student (Anders Forsman), Sweden
1993 Plenary Lecture in Ecology at the Second World Congress of Herpetology, Adelaide
1994-1996 Member of Federal Government Advisory Board on Cane Toad Research
1994 "Distinguished Herpetologist" award, Annual Meeting of the Herpetologists' League and the Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles, Athens, Georgia
1995-1997 Member of Biological Sciences Panel of the Australian Research Council (Chair, 1997)
1996 Lansdowne Visitor, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1996 Plenary speaker, Sixth International Behavioural Ecology Congress, Canberra
1996 Appointed to IUCN/SSC Australasian Sustainable Use Specialist Group
1997 Chairman, Animal and Plant Biology Panel, Australian Research Council
1997-2005 Member of Executive Committee of the World Congress of Herpetology
1999 Clarke Medal by The Royal Society of New South Wales, for excellence in scientific research on the Australian fauna
2000 E.O. Wilson Naturalist Award, presented by the American Society of Naturalists for contributions to the evolutionary biology and natural history of snakes
2003 Henry S. Fitch Award, presented by the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists for outstanding contributions to herpetology
2003 Elected to Australian Academy of Sciences
2004 Graeme Caughley Travelling Fellowship (Australian Academy of Science)
2004 Included in the Institute for Scientific Information's list of the world's most highly cited authors, comprising less than one half of one percent of all publishing researchers. **See
2004-2007 Honorary foreign member of the Board of Governors, Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
2005 Elected as fellow of the Linnean Society of London
2005 Appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia
2005 Mueller Medal for research excellence, Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS)
2006 Eureka Prize for Biodiversity Research (Australian Museum and Royal Botanic Gardens
2008 Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture (Australian Academy of Science)
2008 Vice-Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Supervision (University of Sydney)
2008 Selected as one of Sydney’s 100 most influential people, by The Sydney Magazine
2009 Australian Natural History Medallion, Victorian Society of Naturalists
2009 Plenary Speaker, Garvan Institute of Medical Research Symposium, Sydney
2009 Appointed to IUCN/SSC Sea Snake Specialist Group
2010 Lifetime Achievement Award, Australian Wildlife Expo
2010 Award for research excellence, Co-operative Research Centre for Invasive Species
2010 Elected as Honorary Foreign Member, Herpetologists’ League
2010 Walter Burfitt Prize for research excellence, Royal Society of New South Wales
2011 Appointed to IUCN/SSC Boa and Python Specialist Group
2011 Eureka Prize for Promoting Public Understanding of Science Research (Australian Museum – Australian Government)
2011 New South Wales plant and animal scientist of the year (NSW State Government)
2011 Winner of the environment category, Australian Innovation Challenge Awards (Australian Government)
2011 Elected to Council of the Australian Academy of Science
2012 Elected Honorary Member of Ecological Society of America
2012 Profiled by Science magazine, 15 June 2012, 1375-1377
2013 Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers (Australian Museum-University of Technology Sydney)
2014 Robert Whittaker Distinguished Ecologist Award (Ecological Society of America)
2014 President-elect, Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
2014 Appointed to Scientific Committee, Eighth World Congress of Herpetology
2015 Appointed as Fellow of the Royal Zoological Society of New South Wales
2016 Chair, Margaret Middleton Research Fund Committee, Australian Academy of Science
2016 Award for international co-operation in science, World Congress of Herpetology, China
2016 New South Wales Scientist of the Year

Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

Rick and Team Bufo at Parliament House

Rick and Team Bufo at Parliament House to collect the Prime Minister's Prize for Science