Skip to main content

Planning your course

Academic advice

Most faculties and schools have academic advisors who can provide advice about planning your course.

Architecture, design and planning program directors

Program Contact Email
Bachelor of Design in Architecture Mr Michael Muir michael.muir@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design Computing
Bachelor of Design Computing/Bachelor of Advanced Studies
Dr Callum Parker (until 23 September 2019)
Mr Liam Bray (from 23 September 2019)
callum.parker@sydney.edu.au
liam.bray@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design Computing/Bachelor of Advanced Studies (Honours) Dr Callum Parker callum.parker@sydney.edu.au
Design Major (Table S) Dr Karla Straker karla.straker@sydney.edu.au
Biological Design Major (Table S) Dr Phillip Gough phillip.gough@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Architecture & Environments Dr Somwrita Sarkar (2019)
Dr Christhina Candido (2020)
somwrita.sarkar@sydney.edu.au
christhina.candido@sydney.edu.au
Master of Architecture Dr Paolo Stracchi
Associate Professor Chris Smith
paolo.stracchi@sydney.edu.au
chris.l.smith@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Design in Architecture (Honours)/Master of Architecture Dr Ross Anderson r.anderson@sydney.edu.au
Master of Design Dr Erez Nusem
Associate Professor Martin Tomitsch
erez.nusem@sydney.edu.au
martin.tomitsch@sydney.edu.au
Master of Interaction Design & Electronic Arts Dr Lian Loke lian.loke@sydney.edu.au
Master of Heritage Conservation Dr Cameron Logan cameron.logan@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urban Design Dr Tooran Alizadeh tooran.alizadeh@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urbanism Dr Pranita Shrestha pranita.shrestha@sydney.edu.au
Master of Urban & Regional Planning Associate Professor Paul Jones paul.r.jones@sydney.edu.au
Master of Architectural Science Dr Daniel Ryan daniel.ryan@sydney.edu.au

Master of Architectural Science stream coordinators

Stream Contact Email
Audio and Acoustics Associate Professor Densil Cabrera densil.cabrera@sydney.edu.au
Illumination Design Associate Professor Wendy Davis wendy.davis@sydney.edu.au
High Performance Buildings Professor Richard de Dear richard.dedear@sydney.edu.au
Sustainable Design Dr Daniel Ryan daniel.ryan@sydney.edu.au
Building Services (Graduate Certificate) Professor Richard de Dear richard.dedear@sydney.edu.au
Facilities Management (Graduate Certificate) Professor Richard de Dear richard.dedear@sydney.edu.au

Academic Undergraduate Student Advisors

Your Academic Undergraduate Student Advisors are senior academics available to offer you advice and support throughout your studies. You can talk to them about a range of different topics including:

  • improving your academic performance
  • setting study goals
  • planning your degree and choosing subjects
  • understanding the range of different student support services available to you and accessing the best resources for your needs
  • what to do if you are struggling at university and need some advice.

If you have a question about a specific unit of study you are enrolled in, it's best to contact your unit of study coordinator. If you aren’t sure who to speak to, contact the Student Affairs and Engagement team at fass.studentaffairsandengagement@sydney.edu.au and we’ll connect you with the right person.

Contact your Academic Undergraduate Student Advisor

There are two key ways you can contact your Academic Undergraduate Student Advisor.

  1. Complete the online form and get matched with an Academic Undergraduate Student Advisor in your field of study.
  2. Send an email using the contact details below. In your email include who you are, what you are studying, and what you’d like to discuss. You can contact any of the Advisors listed and should choose the person who most closely matches your study background. If your Department does not have an Advisor, we recommend you contact any of the Advisors from your School.
School Academic Undergraduate Student Advisors
School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry (SOPHI)

Jess Kean (Gender & Cultural Studies)

Andres Rodriguez (History)

Brian Hedden (Philosophy)

Ben Brown (Classics and Ancient History/Dalyell)

Jelle Stoop (Classics and Ancient History)

Elly Cowan (Classics and Ancient History)

Caroline West (Philosophy)

Shawna Tang (Gender Studies)

School of Languages and Cultures (SLC)

Chiew Hui Ho (Chinese studies)

Josh Stenberg (Chinese)

Carolyn Stott (French)

Seiko Yasumoto (Japanese Studies)

Tamaki Mihic (Japanese Studies)

Ruben Perez-Hidalgo (Spanish and Latin American Studies)

Joyce Nip (Chinese Studies/MECO)

School of Literature Art and Media (SLAM)

Isabelle Hesse (English)

Jan Guy (SCA)

Sanné Mestrom (SCA)

Oliver Smith (SCA)

Alexander Howard(Writing Studies)

Benjamin Miller (Writing Studies)

Jonathan Hutchinson (MECO)

Bronwen Dyson (Writing Studies)

School of Economics (SE)

Khanh Phan (Economics)

Stephen Whelan (Economics)

Nicolas de Roos (Economics)

Pablo Guillen Alvarez (Economics)

Russell Toth (Economics)

Shyamal Chowdhury (Economics)

Stella Huangfu (Economics)

Timothy Fisher (Economics)

Vladimir Smirnov (Economics)

Yunjong Eo (Economics)

School of Social and Political Sciences (SSPS)

Alex Lefebvre (GIR/Philosophy)

Ryan Schram (Anthropology)

John Brookfield (Government/IR)

Gil Merom (Government/IR)

Craig Browne (Sociology/Social Policy)

Christine Winter (Government/IR)

Beatriz Carrillo Garcia (Sociology/Social Policy)

Rebecca Pearse (Political Economy)

Susan Banki (Sociology/Social policy)

School of Education and Social Work (SSESW)

Louise Sutherland (Student Experience Coordinator)

Heather McMaster (Program Director, Primary Education)

Alison O'Grady (Program Director, combined Education degrees)

Louisa Peralta (Program Director, Health and Physical Education)

Amanda Niland (Program Director, Early Childhood Education)

Marianne Fenech (Program Director, Early Childhood Education)

Other James Curran (INGS Director)
Specialist portfolios  
Educational Integrity Coordinators

Giorgia Alu - Educational Integrity Coordinator

Nigel Goodwin - Educational Integrity Coordinator

Disability Liason Officers Associate Professor David Evans - Faculty Disability Liaison Officer
Christopher Pepin-Neff - Faculty Disability Liaison Officer
Social Inclusion Catriona Elder - Associate Dean (Indigenous Strategy and Services)
Student Affairs Alex Lefebvre - Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Student Life Carolyn Stott - Associate Dean, Student Life
INGS/Bachelor of International and Global Studies Director James Curran - Degree Director
Dalyell Scholars Program Coordinators Helen Proctor - School of Education and Social Work
Brendon O’Connor - US Studies Centre

Postgraduate Coursework Coordinators

If you're a postgraduate student, you can contact your Coursework Coordinator for support. They will be able to provide advice to you over email or face-to-face about a range of topics including support services available, degree planning and improving your performance.

Contact your Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator

You can find a full list of Postgraduate Coursework Coordinators in Canvas. Send an email using the contact details provided to a Coursework Coordinator in your field of study. In your email include who are, what you are studying and what you would like to discuss.

If you're studying in the Sydney Law School you can find contacts for advice in Canvas.

Faculty of Health Sciences

Course directors
Discipline Course Contact Email
Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health Bachelor of Health Sciences Zakia Hossain zakia.hossain@sydney.edu.au
Exercise and Sport Science Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sports
Science)/Master of Nutrition and Dietetics
Helen O’Connor
helen.oconnor@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sports
Science)
Kate Edwards kate.edwards@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise Physiology) Glen Davis glen.davis@sydney.edu.au
Master of Exercise Physiology Chin-Moi Chow chin-moi.chow@sydney.edu.au
Medical Imaging Sciences Bachelor of Applied Science (Diagnostic Radiography) Peter Kench peter.kench@sydney.edu.au
Master of Diagnostic Radiography Jillian Clarke jillian.clarke@sydney.edu.au
Master of Health Science (Medical Radiation Sciences)/Master of Medical Imaging Science Roger Bourne roger.bourne@sydney.edu.au
Occupational Therapy Bachelor of Applied Science (Occupational Therapy) Chris Chapparo chris.chapparo@sydney.edu.au
Master of Health Sciences (Developmental Disability) Roger Stancliffe roger.stancliffe@sydney.edu.au
OT: Master of Occupational Therapy Margaret McGrath margaret.mcgrath@sydney.edu.au
Physiotherapy Bachelor of Applied Science (Physiotherapy) Debra Shirley debra.shirley@sydney.edu.au
Master of Physiotherapy Natalie Allen natalie.allen@sydney.edu.au
Rehabilitation Counselling Master of Rehabilitation Counselling (+GDip) Roxanna Pebdani roxanna.pebdani@sydney.edu.au
Speech Pathology Bachelor of Applied Science (Speech Pathology) Natalie Munro natalie.munro@sydney.edu.au
Master of Speech Language Pathology Elise Baker elise.baker@sydney.edu.au
Stream coordinators
Stream Contact Email
Bachelor of Science (Health) stream and Health major coordinator Melanie Keep melanie.keep@sydney.edu.au 
Hearing and Speech major Maree Doble maree.doble@sydney.edu.au
Human Movement major Mark Halaki mark.halaki@sydney.edu.au
Disability and Participation major (available from 2020) Anne Cusick anne.cusick@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Dental School

Discipline Contact Email
Academic Lead Education Dr Delyse Leadbeatter Delyse.leadbeatter@sydney.edu.au
Oral Biosciences Associate Professor Munira Xaymardan Munira.xaymardan@sydney.edu.au
Oral Health Dr Kimberly Mathieu-Coulton kimberly.coulton@sydney.edu.au
Oral Surgery, Medicine and Diagnostics Professor Hans Zoellner Hans.zoellner@sydney.edu.au
Orthodontic and Paediatric Dentistry Professor Ali Darendeliler Ali.Darendeliler@sydney.edu.au
Population Oral Health Professor Woosung Sohn Woosung.sohn@sydney.edu.au
Restorative and Reconstructive Dentistry Professor Axel Spahr Axel.spahr@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Medical School

Discipline Contact Email
Advanced Surgery
Clinical Surgery
Surgery
Surgical Anatomy
Jayne Seward jayne.seward@sydney.edu.au
Brain and Mind Sciences
Psychiatry
Trudy Stone trudy.stone@sydney.edu.au
Cataract and Refractive Surgery
Intrnational Ophthalmology
Ophthalmic Science
Emma Coleman emma.coleman@sydney.edu.au
Clinical Neurophysiology
Critical Care Medicine
Internal Medicine
Metabolic Health
Pharmaceutical and Medical Device Development
Jackie Ross jackie.ross@sydney.edu.au
Clinical Trials Research Adrienne Kirby adrienne.kirby@sydney.edu.au
Infection and Immunity Jim Manos jim.manos@sydney.edu.au
Medicine Pieta Joy pieta.joy@sydney.edu.au
Pain Management Elizabeth Devonshire
Leigh-Anne Funnell
liz.devonshire@sydney.edu.au
leigh-anne.funnell@sydney.edu.au
Sleep Medicine Sally Middleton sally.middleton@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Nursing School

Pre-registration courses Contact Email
Bachelor of Nursing (Advanced Studies) Coordinator Toby Raeburn toby.raeburn@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Nursing (Advanced Studies) Year 1 Advisor Dr Narelle Story narelle.story@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Nursing (Advanced Studies) Year 2 and 3 Advisor Clare Davies clare.davies@sydney.edu.au
Master of Nursing (Graduate Entry) Pre-registration programs Coordinator Dr Vasiliki Betihavas vasiliki.betihavas@sydney.edu.au
Master of Nursing (Graduate Entry) Year 1 Advisor Astrid Frotjold astrid.frotjold@sydney.edu.au
Master of Nursing (Graduate Entry) Year 2 Advisor Dr Ronald Castelino ronald.castelino@sydney.edu.au
Master of Nursing Combined Degree Advisor (Science/Health Sciences) Dr Taneal Wiseman taneal.wiseman@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Arts/Master of Nursing Combined Degree Advisor Moira Dunsmore moira.dunsmore@sydney.edu.au
Postgraduate courses Contact Email
Advanced Nursing Practice and Clinical Nursing Coordinator Associate Professor Christopher Gordon christopher.gordon@sydney.edu.au
Cancer and Haematology Nursing Coordinator Shannon Philp shannon.philp@sydney.edu.au
Emergency Nursing Coordinator Elizabeth Leonard elizabeth.leonard@sydney.edu.au
Intensive Care Nursing Coordinator Associate Professor Janice Gullick janice.gullick@sydney.edu.au
Mental Health Nursing Coordinator Dr Andrea McCloughen andrea.mccloughen@sydney.edu.au
Nurse Practitioner Coordinator Jacqueline Fong jacqui.fong@sydney.edu.au
Primary Health Care Nursing Coordinator Dr Sue Randall sue.randall@sydney.edu.au
Clinical education Contact Email
Clinical Education Academic (Clinical Simulation) Astrid Frotjold astrid.frotjold@sydney.edu.au
Clinical Education Academic (Clinical Facilitation) Michelle Maw michelle.maw@sydney.edu.au

Sydney Pharmacy School

Program Contact Email
Program Director, Undergraduate Associate Professor Nial Wheate nial.wheate@sydney.edu.au
Undergraduate Year 1 Coordinator Professor Timothy Chen timothy.chen@sydney.edu.au
Undergraduate Year 2 Coordinator Dr Carl Schneider carl.schneider@sydney.edu.au
Undergraduate Year 3 Coordinator Dr Joanna Harnett joanna.harnett@sydney.edu.au
Undergraduate Year 4 Coordinator Dr Stephen Carter stephen.carter@sydney.edu.au
Honours Coordinator Dr Danijela Gnjidic danijela.gnjidic@sydney.edu.au
Program Director, Master of Pharmacy Associate Professor Rebekah Moles rebekah.moles@sydney.edu.au
Program Director, Intern Training Program Dr Irene Um irene.um@sydney.edu.au
Program Director, Graduate Certificate in Evidence-Based Complementary Medicines Dr Joanna Harnett joanna.harnett@sydney.edu.au
Program Director, Higher Degree Research Dr Ingrid Gelissen ingrid.gelissen@sydney.edu.au

Sydney School of Public Health

Program Contact Email
Bioethics Dr Claire Hooker claire.hooker@sydney.edu.au
Biostatistics Associate Professor Patrick Kelly pat.kelly@sydney.edu.au
Clinical Epidemiology Dr Sharon Reid sharon.reid@sydney.edu.au
Global Health Dr Giselle Manalo
Professor Mu Li
giselle.manalo@sydney.edu.au
mu.li@sydney.edu.au
Health Policy Dr Carmen Huckel Schneider carmen.huckelschneider@sydney.edu.au
Indigenous Health Promotion Dr Michelle Dickson michelle.dickson@sydney.edu.au
Public Health Dr Erin Mathieu
Professor Tim Driscoll
erin.mathieu@sydney.edu.au
tim.driscoll@sydney.edu.au
Program leaders Contact Email
Undergraduate first year advisor Dr Chris Coady christopher.coady@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Performance) Associate Professor Jeanell Carrigan jeanell.carrigan@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Composition) / (Composition for Creative Industries) / (Digital Music and Media) and Postgraduate Research (Composition) Dr Damien Ricketson damien.ricketson@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Music Education) Associate Professor Jennifer Rowley jennifer.rowley@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Jazz Studies) Mr David Theak david.theak@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Improvised Music) Dr Kevin Hunt kevin.hunt@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Music (Musicology major) Dr Alan Maddox alan.maddox@sydney.edu.au
Bachelor of Arts (Music major) / Bachelor of Music (Contemporary Music Practice) Associate Professor Charles Fairchild charles.fairchild@sydney.edu.au
Postgraduate Coursework Assoc Professor Stephanie McCallum stephanie.mccallum@sydney.edu.au
Postgraduate Research (Performance) Associate Professor Helen Mitchell helen.mitchell@sydney.edu.au
PhD Associate Professor Kathleen Nelson kathleen.nelson@sydney.edu.au

If you're studying in the Faculty of Science, you can find more information about degree planning and academic advice on the Science Student portal on Canvas. This includes science specific advice contacts and information.

you can use the degree planning and academic advice (pdf, 120KB) information sheet and planner to prepare an advice request.

Student Centre

Phone
Address
  • Level 3, Jane Foss Russell Building, Darlington Campus
Online

Make an enquiry

Opening hours: 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday.

Extended in-person opening hours first two weeks of semester and during exams.

Last updated: 05 December 2019

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.

Cancel