Skip to main content

Planning your course

Academic advice

Most faculties and schools have academic advisors who can provide advice about planning your course.

Academic Undergraduate Student Advisors

Your Academic Undergraduate Student Advisors are senior academics available to offer you advice and support throughout your studies. You can talk to them about a range of different topics including:

  • improving your academic performance
  • setting study goals
  • planning your degree and choosing subjects
  • understanding the range of different student support services available to you and accessing the best resources for your needs
  • what to do if you are struggling at university and need some advice.

If you have a question about a specific unit of study you are enrolled in, it's best to contact your unit of study coordinator. If you aren’t sure who to speak to, contact the Student Affairs and Engagement team at and we’ll connect you with the right person.

Contact your Academic Undergraduate Student Advisor

There are two key ways you can contact your Academic Undergraduate Student Advisor.

  1. Send an email using the contact details below. In your email include who you are, what you are studying, and what you’d like to discuss. You can contact any of the Advisors listed and should choose the person who most closely matches your study background. If your Department does not have an Advisor, we recommend you contact any of the Advisors from your School.
  2. Meet an Advisor at one of our regularly scheduled Academic Advice Sessions. Find out more and register for a session.
School Academic Undergraduate Student Advisors
School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry (SOPHI)

Dr Jess Kean (Gender & Cultural Studies)

Dr Andres Rodriguez (History)

Dr Brian Hedden (Philosophy)

Dr Ben Brown (Classics and Ancient History)

School of Languages and Cultures (SLC)

Dr Xiaohuan Zhao (Chinese)

Dr Josh Stenberg (Chinese)

Dr Caroline Lipovsky (French)

Dr Seiko Yasumoto (Japanese Studies)

School of Literature Art and Media (SLAM)

Dr Isabelle Hesse (English)

Dr Fiona Martin (MECO)

Ms Jan Guy (SCA)

Dr Bronwen Dyson (Writing Studies, PG)

School of Economics (SE)

Dr Marian Vidal-Fernandez (Economics)

Associate Professor Stephen Whelan (Economics)

School of Social and Political Sciences (SSPS)

Dr Christine Winter (Anthropology)

Dr John Brookfield (Government/IR)

Dr Craig Browne (Sociology/ Social Policy)

Dr Beatriz Carrillo Garcia (Sociology/ Social Policy)

School of Education and Social Work (SSESW)

Dr Louise Sutherland (Student Experience Coordinator)

Dr Cathy Little (Program Director for Primary Education)

Dr Alison O'Grady (Program Director for Combined Education)

Dr Louise Peralta (Program Director for Health and Physical Education)

Dr Amanda Niland (Program Director for Early Childhood)

Specialist portfolios  
Educational Integrity Coordinators

Dr Giorgia Alu - Educational Integrity Coordinator

Dr Nigel Goodwin - Educational Integrity Coordinator

Disability Liason Officers Associate Professor David Evans - Faculty Disability Liaison Officer
Dr Christopher Pepin-Neff - Faculty Disability Liaison Officer
Social Inclusion Associate Professor Catriona Elder - Associate Dean (Indigenous Strategy and Services)
Student Affairs Associate Professor Alex Lefebvre - Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Student Life Dr. Carolyn Stott - Associate Dean, Student Life
INGS/Bachelor of International and Global Studies Director Professor James Curran - Degree Director
Dalyell Scholars Program Coordinators Associate Professor Helen Proctor - Faculty Coordinator
Associate Professor Brendon O’Connor - Faculty Coordinator

If you're studying in the Faculty of Science, you can find more information about degree planning and academic advice (pdf, 120KB). This includes a degree planner to help you plan your studies, and what to do to request an academic advice appointment.

Student Centre

  • Level 3, Jane Foss Russell Building, Darlington Campus

Make an enquiry

Opening hours: 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday.

Extended in-person opening hours first two weeks of semester and during exams.

Last updated: 08 March 2019

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.