Skip to main content


Approved calculators

Your unit of study coordinator decides what calculator, if any, is allowed in your exam. This will be outlined on your personal exam timetable.

Types of calculators:

  • programmable - do not need to be approved
  • non-programmable - need to be approved by the Student Centre before your exam
  • financial - need to be approved by the Discipline of Finance before your exam.

Non-programmable calculators

The Approvable non-programmable calculator list lists calculator models that will be approved for use in University exams by the Student Centre.

If you are allowed to use a financial calculator during your exam, the Student Centre does not approve these calculators. You need to check the information on financial calculators to find out what models are allowed, and how you can get these approved. 

If you use a programmable calculator in an exam where only non-programmable calculators are permitted, this will be considered academic misconduct. 

Only calculators on this list will be approved for use in University of Sydney examinations by the Student Centre. This list is subject to change. 




  • F717SGA
  • F720
  • F720i


  • fx-82AU
  • fx-82AU PLUS
  • fx-82AU PLUS II
  • fx-82MS
  • fx-82TL
  • fx-83WA
  • fx-85MS
  • fx-100AU
  • fx-100AU PLUS
  • fx-100S
  • fx-300MS
  • fx-350MS
  • fx-911Z

Dick Smith

  • V7184

Hewlett Packard

  • HP8S
  • HP10S
  • HP10S+


  • IN-82SC


  • JasCS1
  • JasCS EVO

Office One

  • 3000


  • FB 350MS


  • DS-82MS
  • KD-350MS
  • D1-5
  • SC-150MX
  • SC-250MX


  • EL-509V
  • EL-509WM
  • EL-520WG
  • EL-W531HA
  • EL-531VH
  • EL-531WH
  • EL-531X
  • EL-W532THBW
  • EL-531XH
  • EL-W532XH

Get your non-programmable calculator approved

If you’re using a non-programmable calculator in an exam, you’ll need to bring it to the Student Centre to be approved. Once it’s been checked we’ll attach a sticker to it to show that it’s been approved.

Only calculators on the approvable non-programmable calculator list can be approved by the Student Centre.  

If you had your calculator approved before the end of Semester 1 2017, and the sticker is still intact, you can continue to use it without needing to get it approved again. This applies even if your calculator isn’t on the current list.

You can borrow an approved non-programmable calculator from the Students' Representative Council office, subject to availability.

Financial calculators

If you are allowed a financial calculator during your exam, you need to have it approved by the Discipline of Finance. Financial calculators are not approved by the Student Centre.

Non-programmable financial calculators that can be approved are on the following list. This list is subject to change.

  • Casio fx-50FH
  • Casio fx-82CN X
  • Casio fx-95CN X
  • Casio fc-100V
  • Casio fx-100MS
  • Casio fx-115ES PLUS
  • Casio fx-115MS
  • Casio fc-200V
  • Casio fx-220 PLUS
  • Casio fx-500ES
  • Casio fx-570ES
  • Casio fx-570ES PLUS
  • Casio fx-570MS
  • Casio fx-570SPX
  • Casio fx-991CN X
  • Casio fx-991ES PLUS
  • Casio fx-991MS
  • Casio fx 3650P
  • Deli DL-1710 
  • HP 10bII+
  • HP 10S+
  • HP 12c Platinum
  • HP 300S+
  • InSystem IN-F16 
  • Sharp EL-531X or XG or XH
  • Sharp EL-533X 
  • Sharp EL-738F / Sharp EL-738FB
  • Sharp EL-W531S
  • Texas Instruments BA II Plus
  • Texas Instruments TI-30XB
  • Texas Instruments TI-30XS

Get your financial calculator approved

If you’re using a financial calculator in an exam, you need to get it approved before your exam.

Visit office 547 in the Codrington Building (H69) during opening hours:

Monday: 8am to 12pm, 1.30pm to 3pm
Tuesday: 8am to 12pm, 1.30pm to 3pm
Wednesday: 8am to 12pm, 1.30pm to 3pm
Thursday: 8am to 12pm, 1.30pm to 3pm
Friday: 8am to 12pm, 1.30pm to 3pm

Student Centre

  • Level 3, Jane Foss Russell Building, Darlington Campus

Make an enquiry

Opening hours: 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday.

Extended in-person opening hours first two weeks of semester and during exams.

Last updated: 15 March 2018

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.