Skip to main content

HDR grants and opportunities

3 Minute Thesis

3 Minute Thesis is an international competition that features PhD candidates from over 55 institutions across Australia, New Zealand and Asia. It challenges you to tell the story of your research: what you are doing, why it matters, and what you hope to achieve, in three minutes.

The competition celebrates exciting research conducted by PhD candidates and cultivates academic, presentation and research communication skills. Developing these skills is useful for securing funding opportunities, meeting collaborators and networking with other Higher Degree by Research (HDR) students.

What's involved

3 Minute Thesis is a three-minute presentation summarising your research, and its value to society, in front of a non-specialist audience.

Preliminary competition heats are held within each faculty or University school. The winners of these heats compete in the University final, held in August, as part of innovation Week.

The winner of the University final will then compete at the national finals against winners from other universities.

Eligibility

You are eligible to enter the competition at all levels, if you are a current PhD or Professional Doctorate (Research) candidate and have successfully passed your first-year integrity milestone check by the date of your first presentation (including if your thesis is under submission).

You are not eligible to apply if you have graduated.

How to apply

The 2019 competition has now closed and the winners have been announced.

If you'd like to enter the 2020 competition, you can find a guide to preparing your entry, and rules for the competition on the 3 Minute Thesis website.

Contact your faculty or school coordinator to express your interest in participating in the competition, and for information about dates on the competition heats.

Faculty/School Contact Email
Architecture, Design and Planning Violeta Birks violeta.birks@sydney.edu.au
Arts and Social Sciences Venice Jureidini venice.jureidini@sydney.edu.au
Business Ben Breeds ben.breeds@sydney.edu.au
Conservatorium Shauna Crick shauna.crick@sydney.edu.au
Engineering and IT Grace Zhang grace.zhang@sydney.edu.au
Health Sciences Amy Genner amy.genner@sydney.edu.au
Law Sue Ng sue.ng@sydney.edu.au
Medicine and Health Andrew Hartwell andrew.hartwell@sydney.edu.au
Science Malti Vallabh science.hdrexperience@sydney.edu.au

For any other enquiries contact Atchana Santhirathas at dvce.gradresearch@sydney.edu.au

2019 results

  • Winner – Michelle Demers, Faculty of Science, for her presentation: ‘Know your enemy'.
  • Runner up – Greg Watkins, Faculty of Engineering, for his presentation: ‘How well will I hear?’.
Last updated: 29 August 2019

Website feedback

Tell us if you’ve spotted a typo or something else wrong with this page.

Thank you

Your feedback has been sent.

Sorry there was a problem sending your feedback. Please try again

You should only use this form to send feedback about the content on this webpage – we will not respond to other enquiries made through this form. If you have an enquiry or need help with something else such as your enrolment, course etc you can contact the Student Centre.

Cancel